Building Gaming PC - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 11:46 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

oem == just card, no software or dongle
barebone == same thing as oem?
retail == all the goods
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:47 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-214&depa=1


You should kick your processor down from the 3800 to the 3200. If you look at my signature you can see what the 3200 is capable of.. I cant go any higher because i believe the motherboard just wont do it. It'll save you around 200$
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:51 PM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Oh ok thats for the info on that OEM, better check I dont have any OEM products

Guess I don't need an installation manual for Windows XP home :P
__________________
\"And I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then I said, Here am I; send me.\"
Isaiah 6:8
He Hate Me is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:58 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Ok I changed the video card and CPU, check the post with the info
__________________
\"And I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then I said, Here am I; send me.\"
Isaiah 6:8
He Hate Me is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:01 AM   #45 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No offernse, but if your overvolting your processor, that's a low speed.

Quote:
Originally posted by senseless
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-214&depa=1


You should kick your processor down from the 3800 to the 3200. If you look at my signature you can see what the 3200 is capable of.. I cant go any higher because i believe the motherboard just wont do it. It'll save you around 200$
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:19 AM   #46 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

i have the dfi board you're planning to get

using the 66.93 stock driver, i get 45k @ x2 and 53k @ x16, so if that xtra 8000 points matters to you (and you're planning to get another video card), you should think about getting the SLI version of your mobo (unless it's over your budget)

also, does anyone think the TT case's psu is a lil bit low? 18A@12V (but i'm pretty sure it'll work, but if you plan on overclocking i don't think that psu will do it)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 01:20 AM   #47 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
No offernse, but if your overvolting your processor, that's a low speed.

I'm not going to do anything insane with a retail heatsink. 400mhz overclock for a stock system isnt bad.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:03 AM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

mmm it kinda is
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:29 PM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Is the upgrade to the SLI mobo worth it? I mean I probably won't be upgrading video cards for awhile, and the computer will be used 99% for gaming, practically ALL FPS (First Person Shooters), or should I just go back to the 3800 CPU instead of the 3500? One or the other :P I have been also hearing that DFI motherboards are for more advanced people in BIOS and I'm not one of those, is this true? Thanks
__________________
\"And I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then I said, Here am I; send me.\"
Isaiah 6:8
He Hate Me is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 06:44 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

In 2 years when 6800s are worthless and video games eat them alive, you will be able to buy another one (for like 100$ in 2 years). You'll get a huge boost for almost nothing. I've never used a DFI motherboard, they look nice.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.