Building Computer Specs. Any Good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 07:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Inferior
Default Building Computer Specs. Any Good?

I am currently trying to build a computer. I need this computer to be less than 1500$. Over a little is ok though. I need you guys to give me an opinion on what I should change. Your efforts are greatly appreciated. And currently this is what i have.

DVD Drive:

SONY White 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 4X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827131244

Case:

Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133132

Harddrive:

Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6L200M0 200GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144184

Motherboard:

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131540

Graphics card

eVGA 256-A8-N345-AX Geforce 6800Ultra 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 AGP 4X/8X Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130196

Memory

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

Processor

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester 1GHz FSB 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547
__________________

Inferior is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Inferior
Default

So....Anyone got any opinions?
__________________

Inferior is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Maxtor < Seagate, Westerm Digital

Value RAM works great, but not for overclocking.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Its worth upgrading to a 7800GTX
turtile is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

^^^ that's relative. Why would you need a 7800? If the 6800 is going to suit you fine, stick with it. It's way cheaper.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Okay first of all... I wouldn't go with that Harddrive. If you want to get a maxtor, get a SATA one wtih 16mb cache, it's the only reason to not get a western digital instead.

Also, do not get an Asus board. They constantly have problems with the AMD64 CPU's.

And Finally...It is a waste to get that card. The brand you chose is awesome, so stay with eVGA... But there is no reason to get the Ultra version of the 6800. Get a 6800GT, every single one can get to the ultra's speeds easily, so save yourself some money.

If you really wanted to get a better video card, save for the 7800GTX.

Good luck and post benchmarks!!
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 09:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 304
Send a message via AIM to truebe
Default

Its not that much cheaper, I would either get a 6800GT or a 7800GTX. ASUS motherboard? Meh, I would get a MSI or DFI nf4 board. Great Build besides that, unless you are planning to overlcok your ram.
__________________
Gigabyte EP-45 DS3R
e7200 @ 3.2
G.skill 4GB
Gigabyte 4850
Corsair VX 550
truebe is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 274
Default

Change the DVDRW drive to a NEC3540 in my opioun it a better drive and it a good amount cheaper then the sony.
mgoldb2 is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I do not concur. You cannot go wrong with Sony DVD drives. I love mine to death. Quiet, smooth. Stick with it. That's a good choice.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-04-2005, 06:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Not a single person mentioned that that is an AGP video card he linked and that board has PCI-E slots?

Yeah, can't use that video card.
__________________

__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.