Building a computer for a first time need help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 09:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Games will never require SLI. SLI is a technology that enables 2 vid cards to run together, boosting the performance. Games wont be made to run on SLI. the RAM quality is quite nice, but i think u should get a gig of that stuff. ull want it.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I ment to say wont most games be SLI compatable in the future. Sorry :P
__________________

Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I can't really answer the SLI question, this really depends if companies continue with this whole doubling up nonsense.

I really don't think you need to overclock that, you won't notice any lag whatsoever with those parts.

And as I've said, if you aren't overclocking, you don't need low latency RAM, it's a waste of money. Anyone wanna tell me why he should buy low latency RAM, apart from the fact that "the timings are lower so it must be better logic." I'm just telling you now there will be no difference between 4-4-4-8 and 2-2-2-5 timing RAM at stock speeds.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

there isnt ATM, but in a few years when the comp is obsolete and u do wanna OC...just thinking for the future.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default Forgot to ask this sorry....

What do i do for windows and bios? I dont know this is my first time.
Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:53 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

What do you mean by what do you do?
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

A friend said i should ask about bios. Like how do i install it.
Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You don't, the BIOS is a chip built into the motherboard, it's always there. The computer wouldn't fuction without a BIOS.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:31 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...152-035&DEPA=0

replace that with the sony

oh, and what motherboard and hard drive are you getting>

and will you be overclocking?

do you have a copy of windows?

also, get this card instead of that sound blaster 4

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...121-101&DEPA=0

these are other good choices:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...102-178&DEPA=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...118-106&DEPA=0

there's no point in getting a very expensive audio card imo (sure, i'm gonna get blasted by someone for saying this)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.