Building a computer for a first time need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 08:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default Building a computer for a first time need help

My computer recently just.. died. So im going to build a new computer but i need help. I need to know if these parts are compatible with one another and if ill be able to do SLI with them. Also if the PSU is enough. Thank you and sorry for the bother.

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

Two of these http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

2 of these
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...factory=BROWSE

http://us.creative.com/products/prod...&product=10853

http://sdd.toshiba.com/main.aspx?Pat...00659c000022c0
__________________

Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

The hard drive you selected is IDE, you will want to change that to a SATA drive.

Other than that everything looks compatible, but a couple of comments:

This is a pretty crazy system, putting the Value Select RAM in there doesn't seem right. If your going to go all out like this, get some better RAM.

I would reconsider going SLI. It benchs extremely well, but I have heard the real game performance isn't as good and some games aren't compatible.

Also on the video card, you might want to just the GT version, whether SLI or not, as the GT can easily be OC'd to the Ultra speeds.

Other than that, have fun with it, it will definately be a kick *** system
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
Default

I think everything's fine, except for your videocard. SLI only works with pci-express, and you have selected an agp 8x card. Switch your card to pci-express x16, and you should be fine. Nice computer!
angrykid is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Well im trying to save somemoney to. What ram would you recommend? And if the game isnt SLI comatible will that mean they dont run? And ill look up the gt version. Thank you.
Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Ok If i switch my video card to this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-215&depa=0

I still do not know where to find a sata harddrive. Could soemone perhaps tell me of one?
Bogadox is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
I still do not know where to find a sata harddrive. Could soemone perhaps tell me of one?
Here
Quote:
Ok If i switch my video card to this http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProdu...-130-215&depa=0
Very good card
Quote:
I think everything's fine, except for your videocard. SLI only works with pci-express, and you have selected an agp 8x card. Switch your card to pci-express x16, and you should be fine. Nice computer!
Good catch, didn't notice that
Quote:
Well im trying to save somemoney to. What ram would you recommend? And if the game isnt SLI comatible will that mean they dont run? And ill look up the gt version. Thank you.
Saving money by getting a FX-55 and dual 6800 Ultras?
As far as better RAM there is the Corsair XMS stuff OCZ, Patriot etc... They all make good RAM...
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

In order for a game to work with SLI, drivers have to written specifically for that game for SLI, and the number of games with said drivers is limited.

You can find a SATA drive on newegg easily, I would suggest you go with Seagate or Western Digital as Maxtor is a company known to have a high failure rate.

MSI makes decent enough cards, but I would really recommend buying an eVGA instead. They make really good cards and you also can later use their step up program (although I don't know what you'd need to step up to =/). You can ask Nubius who hangs around here about it if you're interested.

I also agree that SLI isn't a very good idea unless you want the absolute best, a single 6800GT should suit your needs pretty well.

Also, I'm not a fan of Asus boards and they've gone downhill in quality as of late. I would prefer a DFI lanparty nForce4 board, but it's up to you.

Value RAM is absolutely fine if you do not plan on overclocking, low latency RAM serves no purpose other than stability at increased speeds so don't be fooled by people who will tell you it's faster.

I also don't know your PSU company very well, and would switch it to a Thermaltake, Antec or OCZ, especially with the high end parts you're putting in their.

And I think that's it.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

get corsiar XMS ram, that is what I have and it kicks a ton of ***... that ram has low latency and it rocks, you don't even need to much ram if you get XMS...
__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

POWER SUPPLY!!!! Thats a major problem. yes, its a 500 watter, but its 19a on the +12V rail. u need something better buddy. Try the Antec True 550 watts - puts out 36a on the +12V rail! great PSU. costs $136. http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-918&depa=0

About the 6800 GT, get that card, u can always add another for SLI down the road. The RAM also could be better quality...figure Corsair XMS. other than that, great system.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks everyone. Would i need to overclock this comp? I dont think so but i dunno. Also wont alot of future games be SLI? And would these ram chips be better suited for this comp? http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-499&depa=0 Thanks
__________________

Bogadox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.