Building a comp for 1,600 Can. No Americans suggestions. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2005, 06:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

1300 including monitor/keyboard/OS? I know that the monitor and keyboard set me back alot. Stupid me I like LCDs and bluetooth keyboard/mouses.
__________________

Hacp is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

lol i wasn't thinking about monitor and keyboard and stuff, yeah figure about 170 for a monitor and a generic mouse and keyboard would run around 30, plus XP would cost another 100-200 depending on version. Silly me, I'm a PC technician and I sell computers here and i STILL forgot about needing an OS...
__________________

__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

When u factor in the monitor that just gooes higher. Anyways, i was thinking of something like this...
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Athlon 64+ 3200 RETAIL BOX $259 Socket 939

Corsair Value Select 1GB (2x512MB) DDR400 Kit (VS1GBKIT400) $160 184-pin DIMM

Seagate 120.0GB w/ 8MB cache OEM $107

GEFORCE 6600GT AGP8XDDR3 128MB 128BIT TV-OUT DVI
$265

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS OEM $86

ASUS A8V-E Deluxe $177

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alright. That seems very general. I just went to www.compu-best.com and just copy and pasted some basic stuff. I got the optical drive already. I'll need a powersupply, and a monitor and case. About the powersupply, i found a brand new 500W for like 39.99 Can. is that any good? Seems too cheap...i unno.

Anways. If u guys can go to www.compu-best.com and kinda browse the stuff there, it would be great with suggestions.



__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

yeah definitely do NOT fudge on your PSU. Last week I repaired a computer that was dead because of having a cheap PSU. The PSU went bad and took otut the mobo, one stick of ram, the cpu, and the hard drive. Bad times. Also, on newegg you can find a better price on that cpu.
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

just looked at that site you were at, their prices are VERY HIGH. I dont know if you can get shipments to canada from newegg or not but it is a very reputable and fast shipping site, plus they have great prices
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 06:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 303
Default

Actually i heard that compu-best had cheap prices. Remember that this is a canadian site, so like that AMD Athlon 3200 for 259.99 is like 214.99 USD.

As for the CPU, here it is. Seems good to me. But then again, im just trying to cut corners i guess.

http://www.factorydirect.ca/catalog/...p?pcode=PO0500
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
Arumuni is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

arumni your sig is gay.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 07:05 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Default

oh, yeah i didn't factor it into my mind that it was a canadian site. As for that PSU I wouldn't get it since they don't even tell you what brand it is. The brand is what makes it good or not
__________________
A+, Net+, Toshiba Copier Tech L1
Working on MCP
pctech86 is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 08:39 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Hey man. Few things.

1) Does the $1600 include tax/shipping and does it include the cost of a monitor?

2) I am going to assume that this is going to be a gaming system.

3) Do you need speakers?

4) Are you planning on doing any overclocking? - by my estimates, I think from a "normal" system, building a seriously overclocking capable system will cost you about $200-250 Cdn more. This includes better RAM, case, mobo, heat sink/fan etc. Well, if you go for water cooling and such, I guess it'll cost even more..

You should always get a good PSU, regarldess of whether u are doing overclocking or not. At this time, I would not settle for anything that doesn't have Active PFC..
Chankama is offline  
Old 06-25-2005, 09:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

dont get the ASU A8N (or any other ASUS mobo for AMD,they all suck). The MSI K8n Neo4 NForce4 and the DFI Lanparty nForce4 Ultra-D are much better. Especially the DFI.

Get ur parts from www.ncix.com
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.