Is building a 64-bit laptop worth it? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 08:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default Is building a 64-bit laptop worth it?

Right now for laptops basically there are two CPUs that are somewhat on the same level--Turion 64 and Pentium M, with Pentium M slightly outperforming Turion 64. But there is one difference, however, and that is that Turion supports 64-bit Windows. Is the upgrade from 32 to 64-bit OS worth the decrease in performance? And also, by the time that 64-bit becomes fully developed, will the laptops of today still be fairly decent then?
__________________

strategist333 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Hmmm, intresting question, this is more an opinion question. I'd probabley go with the Pentium M, tough one though. Or don't get a laptop and get a San Diego 64bit!
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 01:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by woot6600GT
Or don't get a laptop and get a San Diego 64bit!
Just like me
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 02:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Wait for Pentium M yonah
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

If you buy a laptop right now, you will have to wait till 2007 to get 64 bit longhorn. And even then, longhorn will run on 32 bit. The performance drop both speed wise and power consumption wise is not worth the 64 bit capability of the turion. But, if your worried about $$$, get the Turion instead of the Celeron M. If your worried about top of the line battery conservatione and best performance, get the pentium m.
Hacp is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

Ive heard good things about the Pentium-M and the "centrino" technology.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 103
Default

Just as a notice to all, I heard that Pentium M will have a 30-36% price decrease Sunday July 22 as Intel is releasing a new brand of processors. By then the Pentium M will basically match the Turions in price.

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
But, if your worried about $$$, get the Turion instead of the Celeron M. If your worried about top of the line battery conservatione and best performance, get the pentium m.
What is a Celeron M? Same thing as Pentium M?
strategist333 is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Yeah, I'm a bit confused about all these Intels. Pentium M, Celeron M, Pentium D, Centrino... Oh well, P4 with HT for me anyway.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default

centrino isnt a processor, its a technology in all those cpus you mentioned.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

okay, that's what i thought. But still.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.