Build my own SLI system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 07:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default Build my own SLI system

OK people here goes, ive decided to take the plunge and build my own SLI system, after all in at the deep end is the best way to learn.

Here what ive bought so far.
Akasa Eclipse PC case
Enermax noise taker 600w psu
Asus A8N SLI-Deluxe motherboard
2 gb of pc3200 RAM
2 x Leadtech Winfast px6800GT
AMD athlon 64 FX55
2x SOny DVD/CDRW
1x seagate 120gb SATA drive

Now this lot has cost me £1600s to buy online. so i dont want to mess anything up !!!!

Does any body know of a good build your own modern pc guide, for idiots ??

Secoundly after ive installed the CPU on the motherboard do i have to input the GHZ rating of the CPU into the board via BIOS or does the ASUS auto detect this ?

Secoundly for the heatsink on the CPU is a paste best or a pad?

And lastly when ive put everything together how do i go about instaling the operating system and booting up for the first time?

please be gentle with this PC idiot when answering thanks.
__________________

uther(UK) is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Smitty2k1
Default

Id link you but Im lazy.

Guru3d.com's forums had a few FAQ sticky threads, and one or two had good "everything you would ever think of" type of guids for a first time builder. Check 'em out.
__________________

Smitty2k1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Smitty2k1
Default

Ok, fine, heres the link.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread....threadid=59513
Smitty2k1 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 07:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
Default

http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/ thers a guide for helping u build a computer. Your motherboard should detect your cpu on its own. I don't know what you mean by "Secoundly for the heatsink on the CPU is a paste best or a pad?". But once u get everything together just make sure u have ur boot config in the bios set to Boot from cd then u just insert the cd of ur os and save the changes to ur bios. Finally u just boot from the cd and its pretty straight forward from ther.
StrifeX is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default

"Secoundly for the heatsink on the CPU is a paste best or a pad?".

i mean the stuff for gettin a good contact between cpu and the heatsink.


But once u get everything together just make sure u have ur "boot config in the bios set to Boot from cd" then u just insert the cd of ur os and save the changes to ur bios. Finally u just boot from the cd and its pretty straight forward from ther.

cheers how do i do that
uther(UK) is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 82
Default

um..when u start up ur computer it should say something simalar to: Press F12 to Enter Setup. In ther u change ur bios settings. Ther should be a category called Boot Sequence. Enter that and it should say something like: 1. Floppy Drive 2. IDE Hardrive 3. Cd-drive. Change it around to make Cd-drive first. Make sure ur os cd is in ur cd drive. and then exit the setup. and it should boot from ur cd-drive. And the heatsink that comes with the retail version should be great.
StrifeX is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 08:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks strife il keep u posted on how i get on.
uther(UK) is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:43 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Quote:
Secoundly for the heatsink on the CPU is a paste best or a pad?
If you bought a retail CPU it would have come w/ a fan and heatsink. The heatsink will already have some thermal paste on it. Just use that and you will be fine.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 09:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

well you can get the book building a pc for dummies, they should have it at a local bookstore. or you can get it online
phosho510 is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 10:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Use some artic silver 5 paste and a custom heatsink. If you have an FX-55, you obviously have to overclock, if not it's a waste of money.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.