Build A Comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-01-2004, 05:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3
Default Build A Comp

Hi, I only got about 400 dollars and want to build a new computer, just a tower, anybody got any good setup suggestions i can try for? Try to make it kinda upgradeable too if u can =)
__________________

kirtar is offline  
Old 01-01-2004, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 47
Default

hi kirtar
well i will sugest buy a custom built computer from hp/compaq or dell systems .because branded computers are always the better option than configuring it urself get online and choose the components urself and online you also know the price at the same time
i will recomend going for a higher memory than processor speed
by it is certainly upto you and your usage
__________________

scorpiopank is offline  
Old 01-01-2004, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 42
Default

If you have any computer experience at all I would suggest build one. My first computer I bought a year ago was a compaq and had more problems than you could imagine, had to take it back to future shop and it was replaced with their own brand. Its ok, but with some information about building on the net I built my first one in the beginning of the summer. Just surf around and check out prices from online stores and read the comments from people who had bought them. I don't know if $400 will do it as I just built my 4th one for a friend ant it cost $572cdn.It was a amd2200+,cdrw,floppy,asrock mb with onboard vid and sound,256ddr ram. This is for a buisiness machine and maybe some gameing but by all means if you want to build a gameing rig its gonna cost a couple of hundred more for a basic one. Just my two cents. This is the best way to learn the nuts and bolts of computing thats for sure.
__________________
main rig..amd 2500mobile oc@2200,ga7n400-e-l, thermaltake silent boost, audigy2zs,creative 7.1,1024 ocz performace ram, gigabyte 9600pro,2 40 and 160gig hd, ultra x-connect 500watt ps.
amd1800
p4 1.6
hp 2.8 laptop
steve max is offline  
Old 01-01-2004, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21
Default

Hey I posted the same thing down below, "To Mini or Not".........

I dont know of any /new/ custom built HP, DELL, GATEWAY or any major
PC that you can buy for 400 or less; unless you already have a
monitor.

However you can certainly build a good PC for 400 or less with room
to upgrade in the future.

Try newegg.com, I have already pieced together several configurations
for a new computer with their site alone and they have come in under or
just above 400.

Also look to pricegraber.com for good deals, be sure to check the seller rating.

Here are just some of the prices out there,

Barebones-168.00(Case/Motherboard+PS) FREE SHIPING
DDR333 RAM-42.00(256Mb Crucial) FREE SHIPING
INTEL Celeron-55.00(1.7Ghz 400FSB) FREE SHIPING
HD-52.00(40Gb ATA100) FREE SHIPING

You can go cheaper, for example by selecting a cheaper Barebones kit, or
less RAM or 1Ghz CPU all with the intention of upgrading later.


I hope this helps somewhat.
gumshoe is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Question what do you think ?

hmm ? here

Im building a new computer. The folowing are a few parts.. can i get a few opinions here, on the parts that is.

AMD barton processor, 512 MB (double-data-rate), 9600 radeon video card, 80 GIG.

Well i guess the biggest thing i want opinion(s) on is the AMD barton processor, and 9600 radeon video card. THNX
newcomp9600 is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhantomxBantam
get a refurbished eMac.
stop giving bad advice


Quote:
Originally posted by scorpiopank
hi kirtar
well i will sugest buy a custom built computer from hp/compaq or dell systems .because branded computers are always the better option than configuring it urself get online and choose the components urself and online you also know the price at the same time
i will recomend going for a higher memory than processor speed
by it is certainly upto you and your usage
not a bad option, if you have the money, but its going to be much more expensive (and from your post money is going to be key in this problem) than building your own, it is never a bad idea to build your own pc because:

1) you know more about the computer, and how to diagnose it

2) its cheaper to buy the parts and build it yourself

and lastly go for faster processor speed, you can always add more ram later, but can you add a "stick" of processor speed? no, you have to buy a whole new processor, which is much more expensive (and a bigger hassle) than going out and buying a stick o ram
dethangel is offline  
Old 01-02-2004, 09:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

I concur...

Also, the ATI 9600 is a good card...xt and pro.
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 09:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default yeah

yeah im not the one building it my uncle is he has had lots of experience with it ... i have had a bit but not enough to totally do it myself.... it has the AMD chip so we are calling it the INTEL CRUSHER!! lol
newcomp9600 is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 11:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14
Default

Let's start an Intel vs. AMD thread.

INTEL IS BETTER!
Codegen is offline  
Old 01-03-2004, 12:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default hmm

well most of us are here to help eachother out.. not to argue which is beter.. but if descussing intel vs. AMD is the name of the game for you, compare any intel cpu to the AMD Athlon 64 FX http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...5_9488,00.html
__________________

newcomp9600 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.