BSOD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2005, 02:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default BSOD's

Okay my computer's power supply blew 4 days ago just got an antec 480w for $143.00 and now when i install it the computer doesn't even boot to windows and comes ups with BSOD
IRQL_NOT LESS_OR_EQUAl
usbport.sys

what can i do

is it
my ram sticks
my wireless keyboard and mouse
motherboard
usb port

or what? any help would be nice

thanks
eassam
__________________

eassam is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

It's either PSU or RAM.

Test the RAM with memtest86+ to see if you get any errors...perhaps when the PSU blew it did some damage. Also what is the +12v rail rated on that Antec?

Make sure it's not dropping too low, view it in the BIOS
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 03:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

28 amps. but the thing is i replaced my ram sticks 4 weeks ago and then the guy said it worked fine at his shop and when we took it home it didn't. i have 4 sticks in total. first i put 2 BSOD and then 1 BSOD and the computer restarts even before i can even logon.
eassam is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 04:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Pull out all RAM chips except one and if it boots then you know it is the RAM. Add a chip one by one until you get the same error and determine it is a comatability issue. If that is the case I would get a refund on the memory.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 06:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

ok i think i have figured out what the problem is! i just had a look at the system information and then clicked at the conflicts/sharing under the hardware resources tab and this is what i got:

I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 PCI bus
I/O Port 0x00000000-0x00000CF7 Direct memory access controller

I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
I/O Port 0x000003C0-0x000003DF S3 ViRGE DX/GX

IRQ 20 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
IRQ 20 NVIDIA® nForce(TM) IDE Controller

IRQ 22 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 22 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller

Memory Address 0xE4000000-0xEBFFFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
Memory Address 0xE4000000-0xEBFFFFFF S3 ViRGE DX/GX

IRQ 18 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
IRQ 18 S3 ViRGE DX/GX

Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI bus
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
Memory Address 0xA0000-0xBFFFF S3 ViRGE DX/GX

I/O Port 0x0000D000-0x0000DFFF PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
I/O Port 0x0000D000-0x0000DFFF Creative SB Audigy

as u see it looks like i have a lot of conflicts which might be causing the BSOD. Also these were my irq listings:

IRQ 0 System timer OK
IRQ 1 Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard OK
IRQ 3 Communications Port (COM2) OK
IRQ 4 Communications Port (COM1) OK
IRQ 6 Standard floppy disk controller OK
IRQ 8 System CMOS/real time clock OK
IRQ 9 Microsoft ACPI-Compliant System OK
IRQ 10 MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device OK
IRQ 11 NVIDIA nForce PCI System Management OK
IRQ 12 PS/2 Compatible Mouse OK
IRQ 13 Numeric data processor OK
IRQ 17 Creative SB Audigy OK
IRQ 18 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller OK
IRQ 18 S3 ViRGE DX/GX OK
IRQ 20 Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 20 NVIDIA® nForce(TM) IDE Controller OK
IRQ 21 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 22 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller OK
IRQ 22 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller OK
so does any1 know of how to set the irq manually? Also know, after i got a new power supply, whenever i try to shut the pc down, it restarts instead of shutting it down? What would this problem be?
eassam is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Each PCI slot has an IRQ. You can change around the posistion of your cards to resolve IRQ conflicts usually. As well, theirs some stuff in my BIOS about IRQ even though I have never used it.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

and also i get a bsod, usually when i am trying to install programs i.e trying to put load on the cpu probably! what causes this? i have just bought a new psu and i am sure its not the psu! ran some memory tests and ram was fine! Could it be a dodgy video card?
eassam is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Have you checked the voltages to see if they are fluctuating too low?

If your +3.3 for example is dropping to 3v that would effect your memory. Also, I don't think even with two IRQ's being the same that that should give you BSOD's as I've had the same problem in the past, but I could be wrong
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 01:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

i will check
eassam is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 01:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

what's vdimm cause mine is 2.3 and it comes up in red!
__________________

eassam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.