BSOD's - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2005, 06:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

STOP 0x0000000A errors indicate a driver or firmware problem normally as you probably know.

If it helps (which it probably won't) :
the 1st parameter (0x00000004) is the memory address that was referenced when the problem occured,
2nd parameter determines the IRQL that was accessing the memory.
The 3rd parameter indicates a write (as opposed to a read) error.
The last parameter is address of the instruction that attempted to access the memory specified in param 1.

If last param is within a address range used by a particular device, you can determine which device is causing the problem.
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

well with the above error you can try a few of these things. Disable any cache and shadowing in the bios. Yeah, slow as hell but see if its an issue there, it may very well be... Oddly enough, this sounds alot like a possible bios problem, but thats hard to believe considering it worked before... but if disabling the above works, that points to the bios for some reason.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well I just got a 3rd blue screen. The installation got further than it has yet and now gave me this:

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

*** STOP: 0x00000050 (0x86BFF278, 0x00000000, 0x804edCE7, 0x00000000)

So yeah....All I can come to is that this hardrive is bunk.

I know everythings installed correctly I just had to reseat most of it yesterday.

Bah this is lame

EDIT: The shadowing and cache is already disabled BTW
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Have you tried putting your clock speeds on default?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Nubius, before RMA'ing this one, take it down to the bare bones. One stick of memory, take off anything that is extra as in the sound card, go back to on board sound. Strip it down to the ground and see if you still get the BSOD.

Then start adding ONE item at a time. IF you get something to crap out on you, that's your problem. IF you crap out at the stripped stage, then it could be your power supply, hard drive, that one stick of RAM, or the motherboard. Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Have you tried putting your clock speeds on default?
Yeah but even it worked, that'd piss me off that I'd have to go back to defaults from a known stable speed simply to format and have this much trouble.


Liz- I'm going to try a spare 20gb I have and see how that does. I tested my RAM sticks with memtest86+ last night, no errors there. Already removed my sound card and even have onboard disabled.

Honestly I'm hoping that once I put in this spare 20gb that it goes through flawless because I'd much rather have the HD be defective and know whats up than trying to hunt down the culprit.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:38 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Yeah, but have you disconnected your peripherals? Disconnect the floppy, DVD/CD burner, etc from the system while you do this. That way they can't affect the test. And that's why I suggest going to ONE stick of RAM.

If they are the problem, they may be affecting the system and giving you the BSOD. If you disconnect them and then the BSOD stops. You add the floppy, it doesn't happen, you add the dvd, it happens, then you have found the culprit, see what I mean? Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:42 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah I know what you mean, but it's a huge pain in the butt to remove those peripherals so first off I'm going to simply see if when I hook up this 20gb if the problem starts, then if that doesnt then I can start going to the more drastic troubleshooting.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:50 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yup, not the hard drive. Just got yet another blue screen, this time a memory dump

*** STOP: 0x0000007E (0xC0000005, 0x8057FFD0, 0xF7C66B88, 0xF7C66888)

Well this is just jim dandy

BTW: this only occurs when trying to install windows, so I gotta have one disk drive installed simply to be able to install it, and since my drive is SATA I also have to have my floppy and I only have one.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-10-2005, 06:59 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

You were using a different hard drive that time but it was also a SATA? Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.