Broken graphics despite fresh install? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2005, 04:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default Broken graphics despite fresh install?

Any help here would be amazing as im going out of my mind. A while back me and a friend were playin games on our PC's on a lan and both our graphics began to screw up, dodgey pixellation and so forth. His was ok, but mine would then turn on, and give broken pixellation instead of the welcome screen.

I reinstalled windows, only to have the computer become unbootable. It showed the asus logo, then hung on a black screen. I decided to get a brand new mother board and new HD. Installed, same problem.

I decide to reinstall windows yet again, and it all seems fine, windows installs and so forth. I install all new drivers and restart. However i notice the progress bar on windows loading looks funny. Low and behold, all pixellation and broken graphics on login.

Reinstall windows once again. Possibly drivers. so all i install are the Gigabit lan and the nforce2 components on the mobo disc. Restart, and once again the same problem. What could possibly be doing this! its driving me insane!

im running
Windows xp Pro on
Athlon xp3000+
200gig HD (tried 2 different ones)
2x512DDR 400 RAM (Tried removing, no change)
Ati Radeon x800xt Platinum gcard

my motherboard is an Asus a7n8x-E

Dont think its bios as this was brought today and is having identical problems to my old mobo. Please help me
__________________

neondragon2k is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

I would say your video card has been under some hight temps and that has broken the GPU. Dose everything in the bios look fine?, or is that pixleated aswell
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 04:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

bios looks fine as it is. so does that mean the gcard is totally screwed? is it best to try to get a replacement, less than a year old?
neondragon2k is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

hmm if u can try the card in a difference pc and see if u get the same problems
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

hmm yea i could give that a go. btw last time it did this it fixed itself for a while, only to break again
neondragon2k is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

is there nothing else it could be? i in short cant afford to replace the gcard and really need a working pc, so if this is the case i am totally screwed
neondragon2k is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

well if u dont use the pc for gaming just go buy a $40 card.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 07:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Default

i use it for gaming lol!!!

btw ive just fixed it!! any guesses? it was something i totally didnt think of

windows sp2!! it was ms all along!! installed another windows without sp2 built in and guess what....its all fixed...completely fixed
neondragon2k is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

SP2 was probably causing a driver conflict. When you had SP2 did u allways download the driver updates from windows update?
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 08-09-2005, 05:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

No problems with SP2 on a fresh install here on anything!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.