Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Default Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

I built my gaming PC, parts aren't necessarily important to my question, so I'm not gunna go there right now, unless someone needs to know to help me out. I'm gunna be in Ireland for over 5 weeks, and I know they have US to European converters, but i also know that these can burn out, completely ruining the electrical device attached, and i obviously don't want to risk this with my computer. Is there any way i can use my computer in Ireland without worrying about converters catching on fire, or any other problems that might occur? Is there a European power supply that i can just simply replace my current one for, and plug it into the components, use it over there, and just pop my US one back in when i get home? If anyone knows anyway how i can get this to work without the possibility of damaging my PC, please let me know, thanks a lot.

PS, not a new poster to the forum, just cant remember my old password lol.
__________________

d1no311 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

Find a converter and turn your PSU to 240V
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 11:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

I personnaly wouloden't cause the amperage(Amp level) is different in europe than in the US so even if you convert it...it might not work cause the power might given to your computer will either be slightly higher or lower than needed wich posses a risk
Raikiriu is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 12:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

Hello,

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Find a converter and turn your PSU to 240V

Yep. Simply said as done, for any electrical appliance. Just buy and use the right travel adapter, and ensure that the voltage of your PSU is set correctly.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-17-2007, 07:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

Quote:
I personnaly wouloden't cause the amperage(Amp level) is different in europe than in the US so even if you convert it...it might not work cause the power might given to your computer will either be slightly higher or lower than needed wich posses a risk
what? current is proportional to voltage and the resistance of the load. it's simple. you need a socket adapter and to switch your PSU to 240v. badda-bing-badda-boom you're done.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

ohh? stupid me...forgeting things...sorry bout that, your right
Raikiriu is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raikiriu View Post
ohh? stupid me...forgeting things...sorry bout that, your right
people learn, ive kill many things by not switching the power selector.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

220 v + xbox = smoke -> some asian guy fixes it (im asian so no worries) lesson learned, be careful with electronics in other countries
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 01:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

that's different though. the xbox power supply is manufactured for the country it is sold in. the same is true for many electrical appliances. however virtually all (though i have seen some exceptions) computer power supplies have a switch to change between 110 and 220-240v. it is very important for obvious reasons that if the device can't be switched between these voltage modes for the country you are travelling to that you get a special power adapter with a "step-up" or "step-down" transformer to change the voltage.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-24-2007, 05:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Brining Computer from USA to Ireland, what should do?

Some PSU's have a switch like this:


which you can use to change it from 110V input to 230V input
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.