Brands of RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2005, 06:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

OCZ is very nice also. Get some el plat rev2 pc3200.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 06:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 417
Default

agreed, performance is high with OCZ..
__________________

Xiahou is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 06:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

Its not the brand but the type of chips used that counts. However, if you aren't going to overclock, then going with corsair value select is a good option. Better chips are usually made for overclocking, hence they have a high price premium. The chips i'm talking about are Hynix,TCCDs,and UTTs. With general use however, timings don't affect the enduser THAT much, and some nice corsair value select is perfect.


Even with overclocking, corsair value select is decent since with most motherboards, you can raise the fsb of the processor without raising the Fsb of the ram. However if you are doing this in an Intel system, you will get a performance hit.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-21-2005, 07:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Then you will have to OC the RAM as well. If you OC one, you gotta OC the other to keep a 1:1 ratio.
]

You know you can lower the ratio, and if you have a DFI board with ratio's you can do a nice overclock to the CPU with a slight overclock to the ram (or underclock to the ram)
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.