Bottleneck - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2004, 11:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321
Default

BTW, where do u dload prime95 from?
__________________

__________________
|New|Gaming|System|2|Be|:

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD¬ĪR/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 11:47 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

u guys, he said "counter strike: Source" which, correct me if im wrong, is the new Counter strike that uses the HL2 Game engine, so, 20Fps is not to bad for your setup. and yes, like everyone says, get a new CPU preferably a 2500+ and overclock it to 3200+ speeds but if you are not comfortable with overclocking, spend a few more dollars and get a 3000+ or 3200+.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 01:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Raekwon
u guys, he said "counter strike: Source" which, correct me if im wrong, is the new Counter strike that uses the HL2 Game engine, so, 20Fps is not to bad for your setup. and yes, like everyone says, get a new CPU preferably a 2500+ and overclock it to 3200+ speeds but if you are not comfortable with overclocking, spend a few more dollars and get a 3000+ or 3200+.
Yeah, he can also upgrade to Athlon 64 which will do him and his 9800 Pro alot of good in a DX 9 game.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 05:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 134
Default

Ooops!
Sorry i think is was me pushing everyone in that direction!
chadley is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 05:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

oh snap....well I haven't been following too many games besides hl2 and doom3 and I forgot that a new counter strike was even out! So yeah my mind was somewhere else. and it'd seem kinda pointless to OC a 3000+ to a 3200+ you might as well just have the 2500+ and OC it to 3200+ but yeah you'll need good cooling.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Oh it's been out. The graphics are so nice. Thats if you have a 9700 Pro and above.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 02:23 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default erm

Guys im talking about Counter Strike Sorce not CS 1.6 i mean the New CS that runs on the Hl2 engine?? in normal CS i run at 99fps with aa and af to 6! lol the HL2 enigne takes alot to run but i think it should run better on this machine just the cpu is crap
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 03:40 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah we just came to that conclusion like 4 posts ago =P
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.