Bottleneck?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2004, 06:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 24
Default Bottleneck??

Comp specs are
Athlon XP 1700+ (1.1)
Geforce FX5700 128MB vid
400watt power
Asus mobo (not sure what model cost like 90 bucks last year)

Basically just wondering if my processor is holding my ram and vid card back and also if the cheap mobo is needing replacement.
Any info appreciated, thanks

sixfeetdeep is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722

The CPU will not be holding the memory of the graphics card back.

The CPU has a bandwidth of about 7GB/sec
The memory has a bandwidth of about 1GB/sec

Not sure about the motherboard, might need updating if it doesn't support the AGPx8 feature of the graphics card.

[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

i think you should upgrade to an xp 3000+ and then get an nforce2 board to match with you card and then you'll be set, oh yeah, how much are you willing to spend?
compy is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

Is it doing all you want? Then your FINE. 1.7 is enough for many of the apps and games out there. Newer games coming out will require more advanced hardware rendering techniques (like pixel and vertex shaders of now), so u may need to eventually look at that and the supporting MBD.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-12-2004, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769

lol, or do what they say, sorry if i directed you in the wron direction.
compy is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826

If u just use your pc to play games, i think no need to upgrade cosz Athlon XP1700+ enough to handle.
But if u often do video editing, u might have to upgrade to a better cpu such as P4 with 1MB L2 cache.


AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.