Booting Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2004, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to frapped
Default Booting Problem

I stopped using my computer for several months and when I try to boot it again, I see the Asus logo and it pauses and says to press tab to show the POST or DEL to enter setup. If I try to enter setup, it will show "Entering Setup..." and the Num, Caps, and Scroll Lock LEDs light up twice and nothing else happens. If I press Tab it goes to the POST screen and starts checking memory, with the option to skip via the Esc key or Alt+F2 to enter POST flash utility. If I skip the mem test, Plug and Play initializes and then nothing else happens. Basically nothing works. Can anyone help me?
__________________

frapped is offline  
Old 04-22-2004, 10:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

reseat the memory and maybe the processor, if that doesn't work then just use 1 stick of mem (if using 2) see if it works. swap with the other to make sure it is bad. you also may want to try reseting the bios. look for a jumper on the MBD (recover or something like that, check the manual). put the jumper to the correct pins. itll say something to the effect of bios not properly configed or recover or some crap. turn it off, put jumper in normal mode (back to original position), boot back up and set the bios as needed. you can also try pulling the battery of the MBD but Iwould do the jumpers as the battery sometimes doesn't work.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 02:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

It sure does sound like the motherboad battery is dead. I've never seen it happen before though.
Fragino is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 08:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fragino
It sure does sound like the motherboad battery is dead. I've never seen it happen before though.
Fragino,

If the motherboard battery were dead, you wouldn't have trouble at the POST level. The worst that would happen is your system clock would keep reseting itself to some wierd year like 1980 or something. The system battery is really there to keep the system clock running while the PC is powered off.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-23-2004, 04:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Thanks HoLoCronN for the heads up and not letting me put out bad info.
Fragino is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.