Boot-Up (Wont post!) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 11:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default Boot-Up (Wont post!)

I finally got my whole computer together...It started on first try but saddly, nothing posted onto the monitor. I can't see anything, it stays blank.
I'm not sure what could be wrong.

Specs :

Chaintech VNF4 Ultra Zenith VE
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ S939
1GB Corsair Value Select Ram (2 x 512) PC3200
Seagate 7200RPM 120GB SATA
Ultra 500W PS
Sapphire Radeon 7000 PCI (temp)

I guess thats about it. All the fans run and I can hear (and feel) the hard drive go on. Everything lights up it just won't do anything...

Anyways, if anyone has any suggestions please post them!

Thanks
__________________

Windwaker222 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

i had that same motherboard and the same problem, i took it back and got an Abit nf7-s after messing with it for a few days.
No problem with the Abit board.
I dont recomend chaintech as a mobo of choise
__________________

__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

ill mess with it a couple of days, if i dont see any results ill pack it up and trade it in for a Gigabyte 4x pci-e thing
Windwaker222 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

does it beep?
Sui is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

i dont have a speaker...does the beep come out of somewhere else

if not, no beeps
Windwaker222 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

the beep is suppose to come from your mobo
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 11:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

well no beeps then
Windwaker222 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 219
Default

get a mobo speaker. chances are you dont have one on the mobo. if you dont get any beeps, reset cmos. no beeps, return the mobo.
__________________
[root@root root]$ su
uchiha is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

BIOS:

You need an updated BIOS in order to run the Winchesters (90nm).

1) You can use a Newcastle or Clawhammer (130nm) to flash the BIOS.

2) You can force flash the CMOS/BIOS chip with another computer.

3) You can contact the manufacturer for an updated CMOS/BIOS chip.

PSU:

How many amps (a) on the +12v rail?

A minimum of 22 amps (a) is recommended for the 939s.
ag3 is offline  
Old 02-02-2005, 07:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Default

The power supply has enough amps, i just checked that...

I'm going to go check if the CMOS battery is working..

I can't get to bios, theres nothing on the screen at all (stays blank)
__________________

Windwaker222 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.