Boot Up Problems - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2004, 07:13 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

i just edited above your post...it has those specs and has the exact same problem.
__________________

mogliki is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:19 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

hmmm... this is very weird. Well, the next thing I would try, since you've done the MBD swap, is a more powerful power supply. maybe a 450. Just get one for now for first system and see if it makes a difference. Since both are having the same problem than I would HOPE maybe it was just inadequate power. See what happens from there.

Just realized, do you have 2 seperate mem slots filled? If so, try to boot with just the first slot, so remove one mem module. So now should have just one mem in the first slot and nothing in the others. Then if that doesn't work, swap with the other and try again. Remember, just ONE DIMM in the first slot and then swap with the other DIMM.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:26 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Umm... how EXACTLY is your memory situated? Details if ya could....
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Ok... on this one i tryed "testing the ram" and nothing responded differently. Maybe computers hate me. I have 2 64's and 2 128's. All SDRAM.
mogliki is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

heh, starting to think your right Well, may want to try a different more powerful power supply then.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 07:50 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

Well, I'm prolley just gonna have to take them to the shop. I can't deal working with them anymore. I've been trying to get these things to work for a week now with no results. I don't see why the Athlon would need a bigger PSU since it was working beforehand (I even switched the PSU, it was working with to it and no response). As for the P4, the PSU could be too weak...I'll check it out. (It has a P4 Certified sticker on it =P) Well thanks for all of the help.
mogliki is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:06 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

lol, well the reason for the bigger PSU is it looks like you took some of the better stuff and combined them into one system. Plus the COULD be going bad. One last thing to try, though. Would be better if you could find the jumper, but try removing the CMOS battery for about hour and then pop it back in. From that point, I'd take it in.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 08:26 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 14
Default

I'm guessing that CMOS battery is the big round battery looking thing. Right?
mogliki is offline  
Old 05-03-2004, 09:14 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

yep, flat and silverish looking. kind of like a big watch battery, or button battery.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.