boot-up problem (emm386) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2003, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5
Default boot-up problem (emm386)

I'm using P2 400Mhz, 64mb sdram.
After upgrading my ram, my computer reboots after the win98 screen appeared. i changed back to my old ram but it still keep rebooting... after that, this message appear,

emm386 has detected error #?1 in an application at memory address FF3C:43AC. To minimise the chance of data loss, emm386 has halted your computer. For more info, pls consult your documentation.
To restart your computer, press ENTER.

I dont know what this ? represents, it's like highlighted letter or number... I pressed enter but there's no response. Is my ram spoilt? please help....

epin is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 08:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
mikesgroovin's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715

No, the RAM should be fine. I have had this happen to a couple of clients a year ago or so when using 98. Are you certain that you tried to load Windows98 with the original RAM in place and nothing else? Try rebooting several times. I know that this is tedious...but still worth a shot. Also try booting into Safe Mode and then shut down/restart properly. If that doesn't work then try this:

Have you installed any other hardware recently (besides the RAM)? If so, then let me know before you perform the steps below:

When booting 98, hit F8 once per second to get into a boot menu. When you get into this boot menu, you are going to want to choose "Safe Mode with Command Prompt only". Right away you will be prompted with a "C:\" command line. Type "scanreg /restore" (without the quotes of course) and hit enter. You will be prompted with a few options here. First, let me explain, that every day that your Win98 PC boots, it will save your registry information. It saves it on the first successful boot each new day. What you are doing is resorting back to a "good" configuration. That being said, choose one of the first couple choices, but make sure that the date within the choice isn't too long ago. (Don't know how many days you go in between booting your PC). So, just choose the second or third choice and then answer "yes" if the system asks you to confim. The system will then restore your registry information back to this date's config and reboot. After the reboot, you should be fine.


mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-08-2003, 11:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

Yes, i've tried to load win 98 with the original ram in place and tried countless times. I had not installed any other hardware besides the ram.
I performed the steps given, but after that, the screen Microsoft Registry Checker appear but blank...
epin is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 10:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

please help....
someone suggested that I should insert windows CD and boot from the CD and fix windows installation. But my com doesn't detect the cd even though i've changed my boot sequence....
epin is offline  
Old 11-11-2003, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204

just curious, what kind of computer is this, and what does your config.sys look like?
gruntwerk is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 12:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

I'm using hp pavilion 6409 computer...
sorry... but i don't know what config. sys is, and where can i see it...
you have solution to this?.... any help will be appreciated....
epin is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

There is the Problem!!!

Its a bloody Pavillion!!

I told you guys that HP has a secret agenda,,,but NOoooo!

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 11-12-2003, 10:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5

is there anything bad about it?....
is there any solution to this boot problem?...

epin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.