boot up problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2004, 07:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4
Question boot up problem

hi to all need some help
Im running windows xp pro .I can start up pc with no problems but when i restart comp it shuts down but will not restart.By pressing in off button and turning pc off and then powering up again it works fine.

asrock k7s8x motherboard
512mb ddr400 branded memory
amd xp 2600+333fsb
80gb hitachi 7200 hard drive
128mb 9200 ati radion graphic card
52x32x52 liteon cdrw
16xliteon dvd rom

I have built the pc using a v70b 400w window atx case

If anyone can help please post me as i am lost as what to do .
many thanks gray(novice computer builder)

cronauer1965 is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 08:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12

just go ahead and press the power button
and hold it down for about a minute or two

take out the power cable from the back without releasing the power button and then after a 40 secs go ahead and plug it back in wait for 20 secs and release the power button

this is known as power cycling as it removes any static charge in the CPU.

thanks & regards

scorpank is offline  
Old 02-01-2004, 09:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4

thx for the tips.tried that but still no restart.Have taken motherboard out and made sure that it is insulated from case (which it is ) .Have u any more ideas?
cronauer1965 is offline  
Old 02-09-2004, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4

checked most things. getting stressed now. loaded vietcong after reloading os still crashes within a minute of starting game. I have set mother board jumper to 333 to match processor but dont know where ram ddr400 comes in to play dont know whether the problems i have are related eg boot problem/game crashing. i checked logs game crashes out with true vector service. got any ideas? i am totally lost now.
cronauer1965 is offline  
Old 02-14-2004, 07:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 4

got everything running ok now. It was in the bios. set every thing wrong told you i was novice. boots up fine now. think i set multiplier to high kept banging out when under load. also set ram mhz wrong. thanks for help tho good to know people do help. ta.
cronauer1965 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.