Boot up issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2004, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default Boot up issue

Hello

I put together a computer for some friends the other day and when I had the system was at my place it would boot into windows 2000 no problem everything worked perfectly

It was hooked up to my monitor which is the same brand as the one I have a Studioworks 700s

However when they took it home the system started up ok, it gets to the prompt starting windows 2000 and then the screen goes black and the monitor 's green light turns yellow, however the CPU still has a green light indicating the computer is still on.

Anyone have an idea why this is happening?

Its a Pentium 4 P4R800-W with 512 megs of RAM
with a GeForce FX2000 graphics card.

Thank you
__________________

Spookie is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

do u and ur friend have same resolution? of monitor?
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

I know that we have the exact same model it's and LG Studioworks 700s that was purchased from the same place. How could I check to see if they have the same resolution?
Spookie is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Yes I have one beep code just befor it does the windows startup as the screen goes black with a cursor in the upper right hand corner then after a brief pause it has the windows startup scrollbar display at the bottom of the screen then shortly after we have the difficulty with the monitor
Spookie is offline  
Old 07-25-2004, 05:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 7
Default

K I got them to remove the cover and made sure that the card is seated properly and that there are no bent pins. The monitor is plugged in properly to the graphics card.
Spookie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.