boot prob - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-25-2006, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default boot prob

I've started having trouble booting up. Just built this computer and everything started out working great. The first symptom was windows started taking a long time to load, which made me suspicious, but I pretty much ignored it. Now it tries to load and never finishes. I can get on in safe mode (I am now), but if I try to boot up normally no dice.

Any Ideas?

EDIT: My gut tells me this is a software issue, not hardware, so since this is on a 250Gb HDD, which I'm not liking (could get really cluttered). I have a 30Gb drive which I'm thinking about installing everything to and using this as storage instead. Then I could feel free to reformat whenever too since I'll have everything backed up.
__________________

bum is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Have you tried booting into safe mode?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Have you tried booting into safe mode?
errr...

"I can get on in safe mode (I am now)"

I can, but I don't know what to fix.
bum is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Do a repair install of Windows XP, and if that fails, reformat. And back up your information BEFORE the reformat

(You are using XP, right?)
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

yeah (unfortunately). Is it feasible that the OS got damaged after like a month of use?
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 11:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Did you scan your HD for viruses or spyware?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

Yeah, nothing serious. Just typical spyware and stuff
bum is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 06:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

I've got a pretty good I idea on what I'm gonna do. Definitly putting that second smaller HDD in and then probly a reformat.

Thanks for your help though.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default

WTF

My system just started working again. I'm happy, but at the same time windows sucks. If it weren't for games I'd switch to linux or Mac.
__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 10:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if you can get into safe mode, then its one of a few things (most likely). A program in startup is hanging and not allowing windows to finish loading, or you have a corrupted driver. Thats what you need to focus on. Just because it works fine now, does NOT mean this wont happen again. You need to check your startup and maybe reinstall drivers.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.