Which Boot Disk is mine? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-26-2005, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default Which Boot Disk is mine?

I want to www.bootdisk.com like i was told too in this thread. (For those you don't know what happening to me.)

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51948

I was told a 98 bootdisk would work. And So i found a couple of them which I am unsure of which one I should use. Here is the list.

1.Windows 95 Original | Alt1 | Alt2
2.Windows 95 Version B | Alt1 | Alt2
3.Windows 98 OEM | Alt1 | Alt2 | Alt3
4.Windows 98 Custom, No Ramdrive | Alt1 | Alt2 | Alt3
5.Windows 98 SE OEM | Alt1 | Alt2
6.Windows 98 SE Custom, No Ramdrive | Alt1 | Alt2 | Alt3
7.Windows Me OEM | Alt1 | Alt2 | Alt3
8.Windows Me Custom, No Ramdrive | Alt1 | Alt2 | Alt3

..... Help... *meep*
__________________

Cajete is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 01:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

it doesnt matter, just use the ME one cause its newer
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Um yeah, I use a ME bootdisk for almost everything I need a bootdisk for.

I dont use ME of corse either.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
it doesnt matter, just use the ME one cause its newer
Any bootdisk works huh.... Even the 95's?

Why are boot disks so standard? What do they contain?
Cajete is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cajete
Any bootdisk works huh.... Even the 95's?

Why are boot disks so standard? What do they contain?
I downloaded the Windows ME Bootdisk and it started to copy it to the disk.... Then i got an error that said

"Disk Error on Track 2, head 1 sector not found"

what does this mean? How can I fix it?
Cajete is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

Probably a bad floppy disk.. Might wanna try and use a different/newer 3.5 floppy.
xenosoul is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xenosoul
Probably a bad floppy disk.. Might wanna try and use a different/newer 3.5 floppy.
Yea. I'm going to office deppot right now to pick a pack of them up. Thanks.
Cajete is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 09:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 133
Default

Bump
Cajete is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Sorrow Send a message via Yahoo to Sorrow
Default

Disk Sector Error can (possibly) be fixed by doing an entire format. Usning XP it takes from 3-5 minutes. Can save you what little cash floppy's cost.
__________________

Sorrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.