Boot from CD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to grifter43
Default Boot from CD?

Okay, I just got a new computer:

Foxconn 875A02-6EKRs w/ HT supports 533/800MHz FSB
w/ 1Gbps LAN, 6-channel Audio codec, 1394 connection,
and dual channel DDR ram support.

CPU: Intel Celeron D Prescott Core 2.8GHz L2 256KB

Corsair Dual Channel DDR PC2700 RAM 1GB

HDD: WD 120GB ATA/100

Sony DVD RW Double Layer drive and Sony DVD-ROM Drive

Thermaltake 420W PSU

Logitech wireless kb and mouse

Aspire X-Dreamer II case

and soon a PNY FX5700 AGPX8 128MB Graphics card with
TV tuner.

This board has Superboot, SuperSpeed, SuperBIOS-Protect, and SuperRecovery.

Question is, I installed Windows 2000, soon to be Win XP Pro, and got my utilities installed. I restarted the computer and it won't boot from the hard drive. I chekced my IDE cable and my jumper settings and everything is okay. I turned off Superboot and changed the boot sequence to only boot from the hard drive.

No matter what I do, the board still wants to boot from the CD-ROM. Checked the jumper settings on the DVD-RW and DVD-ROM drives too.

Am I missing something?
__________________

grifter43 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Did you change the boot settigns in BIOS?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 03:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

If theres no disc, then whats the problem? It should boot the hd second right?
IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 04:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 28
Send a message via AIM to grifter43
Default

Yes, I did change the settings in the BIOS and it should boot from the HDD. But, it doesn't I don't know why. I downloaded service pack 4 now for Windows 2000 and I am going to see if that has anything to do with it.
grifter43 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.