Blurry Text-Antialiasing-Techies Only! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default Blurry Text-Antialiasing-Techies Only!

Hey guys, need some help. Just installed an older card (might be my real problem), and I am having trouble with blurry text. The text blurring is actually the card trying to blur pixels into each other. A smoothing feature of the video card called Antialiasing. I also found after researching that this is quite common. What is not common about my problem is that even after turning this Antialiasing feature off through the cards setting, I continue to have blurry text. I am quite upset with this. Is there any advice that anyone can give me or anyone out there that can help? My specs are the following:

Intel Celeron Northwood 2.4Ghz
512MB ram
LCD Display (Have adjusted all the values I can Not LCD related)
Apollo Nvidia Gforce FX5500 256MB AGP.

Things I have tried:
1> changing settings in all features of my lcd display.
2> tinkering with Nvidias vid card tools.
3> updating driver.

After doing all of this I am still having big problems with very annoying blurry text. Could it be that if I bought a newer card that this problem would go away? Would it be the same with any vid card? If a new card would solve the problem then what would you suggest with my above specs. Looking forward to hearing from all of you. Thanks for the help in advance.

~Ronin~
__________________

__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 12:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Did you ever think that if your sure it isnt software, that the card is infact broken?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

its gotta be the card u have another post about a new one i posted there
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 02:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

is your LCD at its native resolution?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 05:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Fiddle with the resolution if you havn't already.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 10:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

You could try using TrueType to fix it. Do a search on T-F for a link.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 09:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Well DJ my first inclination is to think that it is in fact that the card may be too old to be able to truly give me clear text. Is this possible? If not then it might be a broken card. Have you guys ever heard of this before?

Switch yes my LCD monitor is a Hyundai L90D+ and it is at its native resolution of 1024 x 768. In fact switching to other resolutions is just as blurry. This was not a problem when I originally had the card in and hooked up the dvi port without installing the drivers. Text was fine. However graphics driver was not loaded. Looks like I can't have the best of both worlds with this card. So in response to the LCD I know it to be fine. Now here's the weird thing when trying to uninstall the nvidia drivers to get back to the regular windows display drivers it didn't change my text back to being crisp in clear. It doesn;t matter much seeing as how I want this card to have both great graphics and CLEAR text. Is this normal with all graphic cards?

Trotter I will try that tonight. Hopefully it will help. Good to hear from you again my friend. I hope all is well in your world. Well I'll check in on this post later tonight.

~Ronin~
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 07-23-2005, 11:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 167
Default

Also, can I buy the same card, pull out the current possibly defective card, and then put in the new card? Remember the card I am replacing it with is the exact same specs. Would this be a good thing to do to test the issue of the blurry text? In theory by putting this new card in the text issue should resolve itself if in fact the current card is a defective card. COmment on this along with the text above.

And is there a place to test the pixel (overall) quality of my lcd screen? I don't think it is the LCD but it wouldn't hurt to test it.

~Ronin~
__________________
<A href=\"http://www.stores.ebay.com/championcomputers\"><IMG src=\"http://pages.sssnet.com/championcomputers/Logos%20and%20Graphics/Champion%20Logos/animated_logo_low.gif\" border=0></A>
forlorn_ronin is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Go here:http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/d...powertoys.mspx and download Power Toys for Windows XP.

Use the ClearType Tuner (I had the wrong name...duh) and set your text to the best setting for your monitor.

Let me know how it goes.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 12:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

I didn't find the policy of Hyundai, but I have several others.

Quote:
Acer: No more than four defective pixels per million on a given display.

Apple: Conforms to ISO 13406 standard for pixel anomalies (I guess Google could clear up what that means).

BenQ: Five defective pixels or one defective pixel in the center of a 3x3 grid.

Dell: Six fixed pixels or "several fixed pixels in a small area of the screen."

HP: Three bright subpixel defects, five dark subpixel defects, five total subpixel defects, or 0 full pixel defects.

LG: Two defective pixels in any quadrant of a 2x2 grid.

NEC/Mitsubishi: Varies according to display size.

Samsung: 0 defective pixels.

Sony: Conforms to ISO 13406 standard for pixel anomalies (see above).

ViewSonic: Seven defective pixels.
CPU Magazine, May 2005 issue, page 20 (comments my own)

If you're just wanting to test your monitor to be sure it is working properly, follow this link. It goes to a page of monitor test downloads:
http://www.benchmarkhq.ru/english.html?/be_monitor.html

Hopefully some of this helps.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.