Blaster Worm/ PC Rebooting Continuously - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2004, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to shelldawn
Default Blaster Worm/ PC Rebooting Continuously

I have a PC with the Blaster Worm and while working on the repair it beagn rebooting without my input. It won't go past the Windown screen and when I try safe mode it doesn't make it that far either. I can't run any of the patches because I can't get into windows or even a dos prompt. Any suggestions?
__________________

shelldawn is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Id try and make the bad drive a slave and make a new master.Retreve what ever you dont got saved and format.

Could try reloading windows and choosing repair.Not much.Sure someone else got better.
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 12:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 471
Default

try obtaining a boot disk with norton Antivirus or AVG Antivirus or any other antivirus, with the latest updates to scan and fix your system before windows bootup
subdivizion is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 60
Default

i have the fix for the blaster, if u want it?
Dimitri
Dimitri is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 09:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to shelldawn
Default Blaster Worm/PC Rebooting Continuously

1. The master /slave drive idea is my last resort.

2. I tried the antivirus boot disk from McAfee, but when I run the scans it says there are no files on the local drives to check. The help file says it won't work on NTFS partitions. Does anyone know a similar program that will?


3. And I have the fix for the worm but can't get to a dos prompt to run it or the security patch because of the rebooting problem.

Any other ideas anyone?
shelldawn is offline  
Old 02-11-2004, 10:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Maybe you could use Partion magic to partion your bad drive.Have a duel boot drive and just fix it.That away.

Probably cause NFTS when your not logged on it is encrypted i think.To tired to look it up.
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.