Blank Comp, Missing CD ROM drive, Help needed please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2005, 05:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default Blank Comp, Missing CD ROM drive, Help needed please

Hey all. The other night my computer was diminished down to its A: drive (floppy) and my partitions were destroyed (It was running Windows 98 Upgrade). I managed to put MS DOS 6.0 on it and create a new partition. so now I have a blank computer, it's got a brand new, clean C: Partition. But my CD ROM drive D: is missing. It's not recoqnised so I cannot boot with it in order to put an OS back on the computer. It's not the original CD driver that the computer (Gateway 2000) came with. It's a NERO driver and I still have the NERO CD. Is there any way I can get it back with just a partition and my floppy drive with MS DOS ? I'd appreciate the help. Thanks in advance.
__________________

Nightwolf is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 07:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

have you tried using a 98 boot disk and booting into command prompt with cd support. try it and see if you can install from there. try running auto-detect from the bios setup. check the ide cable. did this just happen randomly or where you trying something and had it all go wrong?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-24-2005, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
have you tried using a 98 boot disk and booting into command prompt with cd support. try it and see if you can install from there. try running auto-detect from the bios setup. check the ide cable. did this just happen randomly or where you trying something and had it all go wrong?
I don't have a boot disk. period. When I put a CD in, it says boot error because it's not there. And I had it happen when I was trying something and it went all wrong. Basically, my CD ROM drive's not there. I can't use it for anything right now. Because it won't recoqnize anything. Thanks though.
Nightwolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.