Blah...Hard Drive not recognized? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2005, 06:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Question Blah...Hard Drive not recognized?

Ok, my new order just came in and a SeaGate Barracuda 120GB was part of it. First time I turned on, it wasn't recognized at all by the BIOS, and I saw that the power cord had come loose, so I plugged it back in. Turned on a second time, recognized by BIOS. But, when I went to "My Computer", all I saw was my 80GB WD, but not the seagate. I went to the control panel and it was listed. I turned it off, and reset the jumpers:

Master = ON/Slave= OFF
Cable Select
Limit space to 32GB

At first, it was set to "Cable Select", and was recognized by the bios but not my computer, I then set it to "Master ON Slave OFF", and it wasn't recognized by the BIOS. I set it back to "Cable Select", and it was fine in the BIOS but not in My Computer. I'm prolly gonna feel really stupid asking this, but is it even suppose to be seen under my computer? What I'm trying to do is transfer all the data from my 80GB to the 120GB to give my parents the 80GB for the comp I'm building them. If it's not suppose to be seen under my computer, then I have no clue where to find it and activate it or whatever. What am/should I do to "fix" this hard drive problem?

Regulus is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
The Grinch
c0rr0sive's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,688

Format it....

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to MrBebop26 Send a message via Yahoo to MrBebop26

What he said.

MrBebop26 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135

Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821

I am guessing you mean I should format the 120GB? How can I do that if it doesn't even appear in "my computer"?
Regulus is offline  
Old 05-16-2005, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220

make sure your IDE and plugged all the way in (use a little force if you gotta)

you can also try the hdd on another computer to see if it gets recognized or use another IDE cable

I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 04:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 32

Make sure that the boot drive is on the primary (master) ide,alone. Hook that new hd to a seperate ide cable as slave.

or just install the new drive alone on your system and format it. and then try to hook it up as secondary/slave and see if you can see it under "my computer"

you should be able to see it under "my computer" regardless
it would be considered :d or :e depending what other devices you have hooked up. It would just be seen as 0 gb(if it did not have a operating system.

sr5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.