Biostar Onboard video w/ 400Mhz DDR? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2004, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Question Biostar Onboard video w/ 400Mhz DDR?

I just ordered some parts to build a cheap internet computer. I bought a Biostar M7NCG-400 motherboard, AMD XO 2400+, and 256MB of PC3200 DIMM ram (400Mhz)..

My QUESTION:

The onboard video (Geforce4 MX440) is only compatible with 266Mhz or 333Mhz memory. I didnt realize that until after I bought the 400Mhz memory. Is there a way for me to make the 400Mhz memory run at 333Mhz so that I can use the onboard video card?

Thanks in advance,
Joe
__________________

m3kgt is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 07:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 276
Default

No, i dont think so. You just cant do that, but somebody correct me if im wrong... Are there any jumpers, i know on old machines u can make it 100MHZ instead of 133MHZ.... Gd luck
__________________

__________________
Windows Loaded .... System In Danger.

Keyboard Not Found .... Press F9 To Continue.
horris1st is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 08:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

Dang... I was hoping there would be a setting in the bios for memory speed. Hmm.... so basically I have to buy new 333Mhz RAM or an AGS video card. That sucks....
m3kgt is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

I'd say buy a AGP graphics card, downgrading to 333mhz memory is just pointless.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 08-04-2004, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

pointless maybe, but also cheaper. I already have a beefy system for games... the only thing this new computer will be used for is XBconnect XBOX tunnel software and MSN messenger.

Its suppose to be a budget machine... so now I need to find either a cheaper AGP card or 333Mhz memory. Whatever is cheapest I will buy.

Thanks for the help everyone.

If anybody has anything else to add to the thread, please feel free.

Joe
m3kgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.