bios upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2005, 02:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default bios upgrade?

Award Modular BIOS v6.00PGN
ARTX+1535D-6A5KPCZ9C-00
ALi M5451 rev 1
AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor 501 MHz

does anyone know were i cane get a upgrade bios flash?
__________________

MCpegasus is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

From the mobo manufacturer.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-12-2005, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

http://www.bios-drivers.com/drivers/46/46996.htm
Check this out to see if its the one you want
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

I wouldn't recommend going anywhere but to the manufacturer. You definately don't want to fk up your BIOS, and surfing the web for BIOS is risky.

Just go to the manufacturer website. They will have all the BIOS downloads you need for the boards they make, and you can have an easier, safer time finding the right one.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sPlAtOiD
http://www.bios-drivers.com/drivers/46/46996.htm
Check this out to see if its the one you want
i think thats it i already have it and am reading up on flashing it. but, i dont have any floppys at the time so i tried to use a cd and boot first from cd drive. no luck i might not have loade right. going to do some more research. thanks
MCpegasus is offline  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
I wouldn't recommend going anywhere but to the manufacturer. You definately don't want to fk up your BIOS, and surfing the web for BIOS is risky.

Just go to the manufacturer website. They will have all the BIOS downloads you need for the boards they make, and you can have an easier, safer time finding the right one.
i went to award phenux or what ever and gave them all my pc info but they still wont give up the driver they contacted me through email with a phone number. i hope they dont want money becouse i wont buy it when its all over the net. also if they want info about anything but my mainboard i will not be incline to give them anything. but i will try to talk to them and see whats going on.

i cant find a website for my board oem. its i believe a artx with ali chipset really old but does the trick.
MCpegasus is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 12:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Open the case and find the name/serial number/card identifier...whatever to identify the board. Once you have it, let us know, and we'll help you find the manuf.

Many mobo manuf's have custom BIOS editions for their components, and I would never recommend going anywhere else for BIOS but to the manufacturers themselves.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 06:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Try here Award Bios have merged Award Bios
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-14-2005, 03:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8
Default

ok called, they want $60 for the bios upgrade. so any help with a free upgrade would not help the economy but would help a wannabe techey. step by step instuction would also help or a good read me site.
__________________

MCpegasus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.