BIOS Update/Windows activation Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2008, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Well, I see that in order to support the new line of Intel CPU's that's coming out, I'll need to update my BIOS. I was thinking of getting one of the newer CPU's, but I'll have to see. In the meantime, if I do get the new CPU, I had a question about updating my BIOS (I'll only do this if I do indeed get one of the new CPU's [most likely an e8400, heh]). I was looking through the Gigabyte manual for my mobo, and I saw that it said after you update your BIOS, you should load the optimized defaults. I was wondering if this was necessary, or can I just leave all of my BIOS settings like they were, and it'll still work all right? Or should I reset to default, and then re-adjust everything?

Also, while I'm here I'll ask this as well: I have XP on one drive, and Vista on another drive with Ubuntu dual-booting. Now, I was wondering, do both XP/Vista have to be reactivated if I change my CPU? Or is that only if the motherboard is changed? I can't remember which it is...

Thanks for the help, I appreciate it =).
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Bump.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Restore defaults and then readjust.

It is a toss up on the reactivation. Sometimes yes, sometimes no, but usually.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Ok, thanks for the help Trotter. I guess if I have to reactivate I'll just tell them my HDD crashed or something xD.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-12-2008, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Go ahead and tell them the CPU died. MS regards changing the motherboard as a new system.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Sorry completely off topic but trotter what happened to your avatar?
Nick is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

yeah if you tell them you changed mobos you have to jump thru hoops to get a new number. and talk to some dude in malaysia if the automated system doesn't approve your request.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
Sorry completely off topic but trotter what happened to your avatar?
Mine or Trotter's? If you mean mine, I've never had one lol.

Quote:
yeah if you tell them you changed mobos you have to jump thru hoops to get a new number. and talk to some dude in malaysia if the automated system doesn't approve your request.
Yeah, that's what I've heard. I've had to reactivate customers' copies of Windows before, and only once I've had to talk to an actual person.

I'll keep that stuff in mind, though.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: BIOS Update/Windows activation Question

Quote:
Sorry completely off topic but trotter what happened to your avatar?
It's a little summin-summin JuiceDaddy whipped up for a little ways back. It's still the same dude, just in a button. Since Juice made it for me, it is completely unique.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
BIOS Reflash Question.... Kruzz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-02-2007 09:40 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.