BIOS update on Asus, need some help. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2004, 03:14 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you have to flash while you're in DOS
in Windows, you are constantly using the BIOS, so you can't flash it
in DOS, it only accesses the BIOS when you give it a command, and you should only need one command to update it
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I don't understand? I hate to sound like an idiot. I downloaded and ran an ASUS program, it connected me to the internet, examined my system (Correctly, I checked the MOBO itself and numbers at boot) it recomended I update the BIOS from the internet, downloaded the file, AGAIN verified I had the correct file and told me to click Flash. I clicked flash, said "starting" then "erasing old BIOS" then error. There has to be a way to reflash this thing. Should I save the backup old BIOS to disk? Is there a flash program I can run from DOS, or will I reboot and the system will do nothing? Did it just clear the CMOS possibly? I just don't want to reboot the thing until I know what to do. I have three PC's of my own with internet access, I'm just afraid after reboot I won't get anything....
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:24 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

sounds like it didn't actually erase the BIOS
http://www.asus.com.tw/download/mbdriver/mb-flash.htm
you have to put the flash utility on a floppy disk (or any other disk you can make bootable) and run it in DOS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Are you saying that you think the PC is safe? Listen, pretend I'm a complete idiot. I thought this would be cut and dry, I updated two ABIT BIOS last week without a hitch. Used a WIN XP program and it took 5 minutes on each system.

What exactly do I need to do to ensure I can get my friends PC running? The link you sent, I went to that before I started anything but the top link for Live Update is dead.

I wish I didn't mess with this thing, his BIOS was just ancient.

I'm not turning his system off. I did copy the new and old BIOS files onto a disk. Hey, it says you a 16 year old whiz kid so help my old geezer butt get my friend up and running again, PLEASE! If you can walk me through it I would appreciate it, even point me towards the correct BIOS file so I know I have the right one. I posted his system info in post 1.

I'm pretty freaked out I can't even run the ASUS program and it tells me it does not detect an ASUS motherboard. I feel like I fried it, $25 for a new BIOS ROM and waiting for it stinks! I was just trying to help a friend out and update all his stuff. Sigh
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:45 AM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

hmmmm..... I find that strange that people have updated their BIOS's in Windows, all of the BIOS updates I've seen and done, on motherboards and video cards have been in DOS
how I've always flashed the BIOS's
- put the flash utility on a bootable floppy disk (often there are setup files that will do that for you)
- restart with the floppy in and wait for it to load, making sure it does boot from the floppy
- type in the command to flash, usually "flashrom [parameters] [file name of BIOS you want to install]"
- restart

maybe it is possible to update it in Windows, it might be that you're not using the correct utility for that particular type of motherboard (asus made more than one flash utility)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 03:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I think I fried this thing, I'm going to get some sleep and check back in the morning. Hopefully someone has some ideas for me that can save the system. I just have a bad feeling after a reboot it's going to be dead.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-26-2004, 04:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

A final note. My cat stepped on my power strip and shut off the PC I planned to keep on until I figured out what was up :/

Upon rebooting the system, I DID get a disk boot failure, I went into SETUP and changed NOTHING and quit without saving and the PC booted fine. The BIOS seems to have updated, but I get the failure upon bootup and "two beeps". Does this mean I need to reload the defualt setups or something?
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.