Bios update? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2010, 04:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Bios update?

My brother told me every once in a while its good to check for a Bios update. i dont know where to start, i dont know what Bios version i have. or where to get a new one, or how to install the new Bios...


thanks for any help.
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios update?

He is wrong. Unless you are having trouble, leave it as is. A BIOS update could corrupt your entire board if not careful.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Bios update?

when i go to change the buss speed of my processor, i can only increase it my 200 at a time... someone said i should be able to change it 1 at a time and a bios update might fix that.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 04:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Bios update?

Hi,

I strongly agree with MindoverMaster.

Unless you're experiencing problems, or your motherboard is missing a required feature, which a newer BIOS firmware version can provide, then don't bother with flashing your motherboard's BIOS to a newer version.

While for the majority, BIOS upgrades complete without any problems, its also just as easy for the flashing process to go wrong, and for you to end up with a kaput motherboard. I used to perform regular BIOS updates on a Compaq Desktop machine I once owned, and on three separate occasions, the flashing process went wrong and I had to send the motherboard off to Compaq for reflashing! . A very frustrating and inconvenient situation to be in. What's more, the same problem occurred on a HP notebook I used to own, and I had to send it in for repair. I think I've learnt my lesson now!

But for completeness, you can check which BIOS version you have by going into the BIOS, or by observing the POST screen, where the BIOS version is usually shown on screen (immediately after powering on the system). As for where to download the latest BIOS firmware version, then assuming the motherboard in question is the Asustek M4A79XTD EVO (as shown in your sig.), you can obtain the latest version, along with the AFUDOS BIOS update utility required to perform the BIOS update, at the following webpage:

http://support.asus.com/download –> Type 'M4A79XTD EVO' in the top-left search field then hit enter.

Looking at the list of BIOS updates for this motherboard, there isn't one which introduces finer control of your motherboard's bus speed. Unfortunately, it seems you're stuck with increments of 200.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Bios update?

hmm.. alright, thanks for your help, ill just leave it the way it is.
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 05:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Bios update?

For the general overall population I agree with MoM.

But for an Enthusiast, bios updates often offer noticeable Performance and Stability improvements. I've flashed my bios 10 times since I gotten this mobo. I never flash using a Windows based utility, I use a usb flash drive. I never flash during bad weather or when there is any possibility of losing power. I never flash with any type of overclocking applied.

With that said Flashing can render your mobo dead. I always find out what fixes are included with a bios flash. Say I have bios1 installed and bios2 is released with an update to the sleep function. I can skip bios2 and if bios3 has an improvement I want then when I flash to bios3 it also contains the update from bios2

CPU-Z will give you some bios information. It's not telling me a version number that matches but it is giving me the correct bios date that matches the version I'm using. You can also hit the pause key when the pc posts and is showing the cpu and memory info. At the bottom of the screen you should find the bios info.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 05:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: Bios update?

you are a fountian of information Slaymate!
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Birmingham, England
Posts: 61
Default Re: Bios update?

If it ain't broke...you know the rest
Peresviet is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Bios update?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peresviet View Post
If it ain't broke...you know the rest
I don't think this applies here... Board with revision 1 BIOS works excellent, never gives you a problem, but find out revision 2 has some nice little updates, and can improve the performance, you're most likely going to "fix" it.

I've flashed my board about 20 times now, but there are only 7 or 8 BIOS revisions. I've used Windows based, and DOS based flash methods. I'm not going to recommend something to an average user that would most likely opt for a Windows based BIOS update, if I'm not sure if it will work well for it.

I can understand not wanting to used a windows based program to flash your bios, for the simple fact, it's WINDOWS based. :P There are so many ways you can really screw yourself, or others by flashing with windows based software. I prefer DOS bootables, but most average users don't feel comfortable with that.

Sean, if you read the updates on the BIOS', and find one that can improve performance/stability, update it, I suggest it. If you don't, and they're just random fixes, that don't necessarily pertain to you, don't worry about the update.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-23-2010, 08:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios update?

I always did BIOS updates from CMOS itself. I only ever updated the BIOS for a CPU update.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infected ?....PC slow and crashing mjt27 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 36 03-20-2010 11:52 AM
Bios update question chara33 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-17-2009 03:54 PM
CUstom BIOS Splash AP4LIFETN Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 06-09-2009 03:24 AM
BIOS Update BottleRocket Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-26-2008 07:26 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.