BIOS Setting, AGP Aperture Size? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2004, 11:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default BIOS Setting, AGP Aperture Size?

Can anyone help me with what an AGP aperture is all about? Mine is currently set to 128MB, my video card is a 256MB Geforce 5700LE. Should I have this set to 256MB?
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

AGP Aperture is the amount of ram memory that is available to your video card if it needs it. It depends on how much ram you have.
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

The AGP Aperture Size is the amount of RAM that will be dedicated to the GPU only when the VRAM has reached its capacity.

Setting the AGP Aperture Size to 128 Mb is more than enough.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazerman
AGP Aperture is the amount of ram memory that is available to your video card if it needs it. It depends on how much ram you have.
You beat me to it! :P
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

So even with a 256MB Video card keeping it at 128MB will not hurt performance at all?

I appreciate the help.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 01:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You should set the AGP Aperture Size to 128 Mb when using a video card with 128/256 Mb of VRAM.

It has been known that setting the AGP Aperture Size to 256 Mb will actually decrease performance with certain configurations.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 02:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Thanks AG3. I don't know exactly what that means, but I plan to read up so it makes more sense. I was just afraid I was somehow limiting the benefit of the extra ram of my vid card, but good to see that isn't an issue.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 04:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You're welcome!

What is it that you don't understand? I have no problem explaining things further.
ag3 is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 05:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

as a general rule of thumb, set the AGP apeture size to half the available physical ram

wayne
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.