BIOS refuses to recognize master.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2004, 11:37 AM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

put the hard drive jumpers on the cs pins, the top one is master.
your cables must support this option (most new ones do)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

dont think my basic ribbon IDE cables support that
__________________

Naga is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Its not the cable.
On 40 conductor cable: put master on middle connector
On 80 conductor cable: put master on last connector
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 08:33 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

ahhh, im not up to speed on technical terms what does 40 conductor/80 conductor mean? and are you referring to the jumper connectors?
Naga is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

there are 2 kinds of IDE cables. the one with fatter wires is 40 conductor, it has 40 wires. 80 conductor, 80 wires is the thinner one. if setting both to cable select doesn't work set each as master or slave depending on what location the drive is connected on the IDE cable. which hard disk is the bios refusing to recognise? it may be a bios limitation, you may need to use an IDE card
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 10:07 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

it recognizes my 120 gig as a slave only, but not as master
Naga is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 10:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 48
Default

if i do connect the 120 w/ an IDE card as my only hd, will the computer recognize it to boot off of it?
Naga is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 11:42 AM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe. I think you need to select SCSI as primary boot device. Not sure though.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 02:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Naga
it recognizes my 120 gig as a slave only, but not as master
The fact that your BIOS can recognize it means that it is not a bios limitation. Naga did you remove the 40GB drive than move the 120 GB drive from the middle of the IDE cable and connect it at the end of the cable THAN set it as cable select or master? you can't set the 120GB drive as master if you have it connected to the middle of the cable.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 02:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yes, put it on the end of the cable. It should work in the middle also, as long as there's another device on the end of the cable.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.