BIOS PW Reset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2009, 12:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Question BIOS PW Reset

In another tech experience i am trying to find an easier way to reset a BIOS PW instead of removing the CMOS or trying millions of backdoor keys that should work and waste time.

This is pertaining towards laptops since there allot harder to reach the CMOS, for some models its easy to get to. But my main question is that has any tech use a certain software to get rid of the PW, i google around for some but i dont trust any of them.

Any help would be much appreciated!
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

Hiren's BootCD has a few BIOS password removers. Only sure-fire way though is to clear the CMOS.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

I binged/googled around and found this list of common pw's.
Manufacturer Password

VOBIS & IBM merlin
Dell Dell
Biostar Biostar
Compaq Compaq
Enox xo11nE
Epox central
Freetech Posterie
IWill iwill
Jetway spooml
Packard Bell bell9
QDI QDI
Siemens SKY_FOX
TMC BIGO
Toshiba Toshiba
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

Thanks for the info, i don't think you can access hirens when theres a bios password. Plus if 3 passwords don't go through then the computer will restart which is a hassle / annoying. I guess the best way is to remove the CMOS.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 04:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevo808 View Post
Thanks for the info, i don't think you can access hirens when theres a bios password. Plus if 3 passwords don't go through then the computer will restart which is a hassle / annoying. I guess the best way is to remove the CMOS.
If there's a BIOS password to access/edit the BIOS, yes you can. If there's a BIOS boot password, then no.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 08:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

if it is a desktop one easy way will be creating a button to send a signal to short the clear cmos so whenever you press the button it will reset the cmos and i think it would be relatively easy to make if you know how to solder and make a jumper-like connector
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 08-23-2009, 12:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

Is this on a Toshiba laptop? If you you might be out of luck all together and have to use the BIOS password reset chip.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 01:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default Re: BIOS PW Reset

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
If there's a BIOS password to access/edit the BIOS, yes you can. If there's a BIOS boot password, then no.
Yes i forgot the first one, i generally see boot password protection. As for saxon i am talking about laptops in general.
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dell inspiron 2650 bios reset vince2fun Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-16-2009 05:12 PM
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
wincodecpro infestation clcrutch Viruses, Spyware and Malware 16 05-18-2009 07:09 PM
Hijack log bdruff HijackThis Logs (finished) 22 01-07-2009 11:33 PM
BIOS settings reset on restart Kurt Rambis Overclocking and Modding 10 01-29-2008 04:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.