Bios Flash/Update? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2010, 01:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

It can't hurt to try can it. If it doesn't boot to disk it doesn't boot.

DVD-R work?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 01:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Anything bootable. The *.bat file, is what makes it bootable, I believe.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 01:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Now I'll be doing this through Nero. Do I just make a DVD data disc?

Sorry for all the questions flashing is a new frontier.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 01:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Those files will not make the disk bootable.

While I personally don't recommend using a Windows-based utility to flash your bios, you can update your bios by using Foxconn's "FOX Live Update" located in the Utilities section Foxconn Support - Download
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 02:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Ok and what would be the likelihood of a catastrophic failure? How can I do this the safest?
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 02:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Do you have a flash program in your BIOS? "Press F5 to start X-Flash" for example, or a Advanced option within BIOS?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 02:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

If the program, FOX Live Update, runs in "Safe Mode" you can update it from the file on your hard drive, this file 79bf1p19.rom
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 02:10 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Couldn't you just do it from within BIOS, as seen here:

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-27-2010, 02:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Sorry MoM I can't tell you yet I'm waiting on the mobo. But it will be the first thing I check.

Slaymate, So in Windows, safe mode, I would start Live Update and use the said *.rom. Correct?

lol I know I probably just read it back but I'm being safe.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-01-2010, 12:06 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Bios Flash/Update?

Ok well I got my files onto a bootable flash finally following this guide. Bios-boot-usb-stick - Howto: BIOS-Update per bootable USB-Stick - www.biosflash.com

Anything I need to know before I flash this motherboard tomorrow night? Tips, tricks, comments?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSI "LIve update" - Rubbish, so how do I update my bios?? NutterzUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 10-28-2009 10:20 AM
Flash Player 9 Update Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 10-01-2007 03:55 PM
Flash bios/get rid of bios password. adinu Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-26-2005 09:30 PM
If I flash the BIOS, will it get rid of the BIOS Password Harper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 24 04-14-2004 03:24 PM
AX4T Bios Won't Flash/Update brownstone_mr Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 02-13-2004 02:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.