BIOS flash causing boot problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default BIOS flash causing boot problems

hey,
I made one of those 'read the manual entirely before continuing errors' earlier. I attempted to flash my MBs BIOS using the correct ROM provided by the MB maker. I'm pretty sure it would have worked, however it turns out the jumper on the MB that protects the BIOS from being flashed was on, so I think it didnt get wiped. The problem is, now it wont boot. All I get is a blank screen, and the CD-ROM drives keep spinning. I figure I royally screwed up. Is it possible to fix the problem without getting a new board, BIOS, or take it into the shop? I'm not technically illiterate, I know what I'm doing. My MB is a matsonic MS8137C. I would like to know all possible methods of fixing my problem. Thanks for the help. Its greatly appreciated.
__________________

sven4077 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Check this!
http://www.techist.com/computer_arti...g-recovery.php
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Unfortunately a bad flash = mobo is a paperweight.

If you're referring to the CMOS jumper, well that doesn't have to be moved when you're doing a BIOS flash, that's something completely different. If your computer doesn't boot at all and you've cleared the CMOS and it still doesn't boot I'm afraid it sounds like you've incorrectly flashed your BIOS. Read this article I wrote for TF Regarding BIOS Flashings gone bad

I wrote it right after I screwed mine up

http://www.techist.com/computer_arti...g-recovery.php

Dernit! The Major beat me to it!
Nubius is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Well ****. Thanks anyways. I've been wanting a new motherboard anyways.

EDIT: My motherboard has 2 seperate jumpers. BIOS protection and CMOS reset.
sven4077 is offline  
Old 11-22-2004, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
I've been wanting a new motherboard anyways.
lol np, you could just get a new BIOS chip like I explained in that article. Worked great for me so now I have a spare BIOS chip just incase I screw up again which hopefully I don't.....or like you said atleast you can get a new mobo
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.