BIOS flash - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2005, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default BIOS flash

My friend jus got his own setup and now he wants to update his BIOS. One way he can do it is with a floppy disk but he doesn't have a floppy drive. He has a Biostar mobo and an AThlon 64 3000 cpu. Is there another way he can flash his BIOS?

Peace!
:beard:
__________________

__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

some motherboard manufacturers support updating bios through windows with a utility like asus update for asus motherboards
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 07:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

If he can boot to a CDROM put the update on CD and boot to it.

Otherwise have the guy spend $8 on a floppy drive.

Or if the MOBO bios provides for an update like Wayne mentions
is also a great idea. BIOS updates are pretty easily done and
shouldnt be a problem any way you go.
ImUseless is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

i dunno about putting it on cdrom, i dunno if that would work
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 358
Default

Yeah, I have an ASUS and I know what you're talking about but my friend lost his CD and dunno if his mobo comes with a software like that.
__________________

Intel Core i7-860
ASUS P7P55D
XFX HD-5870
G-Skill 4GB DDR3
WD Caviar Black 1TB
Silencer 750W
Antec Twelve Hundred
Windows 7 Ultimate
cnico88 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

some mobo comes with a update cd, not sure about biostar though...
phosho510 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 187
Default

yeah, i have Asus update and that allows you to do it from windows. my update utility though can't seem to connect anymore though
__________________

bobafett573 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.