Best Video Card Under $60 USD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2004, 03:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Question Best Video Card Under $60 USD

I need a video card better than this Avanta TNT 2 16mb pos..

But I don't want to spend over $60 for it, I'll probably be getting it from Newegg..

Something that could run Doom 3 or HL-2 (even @ low settings) is good for me.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-451&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-285&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-285&depa=1
no gaurentees, but thats the best for 60 bucks
__________________

__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 03:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

I'm thinking the first one is my best bet?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-451&depa=1
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 139
Default

yes, but its OEM so don't expect it to come in a pretty box :P
__________________
amd 3200+ barton
gigabyte 7N400-L mobo
512 kingston
maxtor 40 gb
ati radeon 9600 XT
430 watt psu
thermaltake xtreme volcano 12 hsf
tOny mOnt4n4 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

that's how I got my mobo..
__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Well, this might not help much but good luck getting a $60 card running with todays latest games.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 05:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Hey I have an ATI 8500 64mb running battlefield vietnam on midrange setting fine!!! I would consider that a decent requirement for newer games, just dont play doom.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 07:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sKaD
I'm thinking the first one is my best bet?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-451&depa=1
Be careful! That Sapphire 9550 is 64 BIT which means it is an SE but the SE is not there. Don't tell me Sapphire is misnaming their 9550 line now too? A normal 9550 is 128 bit.

A 9550 is not good enough to run Doom 3 well. At 1024*768 and high you'll probably get 15-20 fps...maybe less. An SE will probably make it totally unplayable at those settings.

It will also have some trouble running HL2 IF you're planning on running the game at DX9 but there is a console command to let you set it at DX8.1. If you want to run HL2 at DX8.1 that card will be fine. I have one PC with a 9200 SE and it gets 32 constant fps running everything high, reflections simple, no AA and trilinear at 1024*768...except in large gunfights of course where it drops to 18 fps.

If you want to play HL2 at DX9 you need a minimum 9600XT for it to run well at everything high and no AA. You will also see a ton of RAM and a competent CPU.

Honestly don't waste your money on a 9550 SE if you want to run HL2 in DX9. Even so, if you want to run HL2 at DX8.1 you could simply buy a 9200 and it should do fine. Nvidia Tis run HL2 at DX8.1 very well too but 9200s are cheaper.

None of those cards including the 9550 SE or 9550 will run Doom 3 well unless you considerable lower the settings.

Truth is that any card under $60 will be garbage and will not run high end games well especially HL2 in "all it's glory" to quote Gabe.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 11-21-2004, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 80
Send a message via AIM to sKaD Send a message via Yahoo to sKaD
Default

Well, I've come to the conclusion to just wait until the end of the month and get a $300+ card, mostly because I just baught a 16x dvd-/+r(w) drive for $70 just now..

Thanks for the help guys.
__________________

__________________
:: Free iPod! :: FireFox! ::

http://img67.photobucket.com/albums/...4d/sig/sig.jpg
<font size=\"1\">System Specs:
<u>Work Machine</u>: Apple G5 w/ Dual 1.8GHz, 1GB PC3200 RAM, 180GB HDD - OS X.3

<u>Play Machine</u>: AMD Duron 1.6GHz, 512MB PC3200 RAM, 40GB HDD, Some Crapy Vid Card - Win XP Pro</font>
sKaD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.