Best speakers for $50 bucks or less? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2004, 04:08 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Thanks a lot for all of your help, I really appreciate it. I've made my decision and I'm going to get that Soundblaster card from Wal Mart, and pay a little more and get the Logitech Z-3's. I read some reviews online, and every one of them said exactly what you did, that for under $100 bucks the Z-3's can't be beat. Thanks again for the help.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 04:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

awesome, you won't be dissapointed, i gaurantee.

peace,
matthew
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 06:41 PM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

The Sicuro RW-350XL's (one's on that Xioxide link) totally suck. They're cheaply made, sound cheap, and the whole setup is like 10 watts. They put more work into how they looked than the actual sound quality.

Anyway, as for the Logitechs I posted...I got a set for my desk at work for $45 from CompUSA. If that doesn't settle the price war for ya, I don't know what will.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 09:21 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Today I walked into Wal Mart, and checked the computer section. I found the sound card for $29, and believe it or not, the Z-3's were $59, just $6 over newegg's price. And with newegg's "Saver Shipping", Wal Mart was a bit cheaper, even after tax. I couldn't freaking believe it.

My only question now is how to properly disable the onboard sound. Will I need to go into BIOS, or can it be done in Windows through the "Device Manager" section? Also, will Windows auto-detect the new sound card, or will I have to do something manually there?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 12-17-2004, 10:10 PM   #25 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

i disabled mine through device manager and no problems yet.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 12-18-2004, 10:43 AM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

you could completely disable it through the BIOS. I ususally perfer this, since its another thing windows doesnt have to keep track of. That's assuming you know what you're doing. If you don't, its not important because device manager works fine.

Sicuro speakers are just about the worst. I heard their 'top of the line' 5.1 gaming speaker things and they were worse than my nice Altec 2.1s. It's amazing the kind of crap they think they can put out. Their 2.1's are nice looking, but their 5.1s are down right fugly.

Those logitechs will do very nicely. I heard them at the store and thought about buying them, but decided my current setup was nice enough.

Good luck!
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 11:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I feel bad for reviving this old thread, but I still have a question. I get to install the soundcard tomorrow, and hook up the speakers, and I am freaking excited. Anyway, on another thread, Nubius made this post:

"I got the same board and the sound is pretty good IMO. As long as you load a present into your EQ, like the Rock Preset in Winamp will give you a really good sound. Only if you don't adjust the EQ will you get a flat sound from it."

What is he talking about loading something into the EQ. His post is regarding onboard sound, but does it apply to the soundcard also?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 10:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

your EQ will use whatever sound you are using, be it soundcard or onboard sound.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.