best ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2004, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to the grim gopher
Default best ram

i want to get a gig of ram for my computer, i will be running a nvidia 6800, athlon 64, and asus mobo. what is the best ram to get for this setup?
__________________

the grim gopher is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 01:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 54
Send a message via AIM to triXsta
Default

well what is ur budget? i mean this is some good ram here but damn expensive http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-510&depa=1
__________________

triXsta is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to the grim gopher
Default

yea, sorry i forgot to post my budget, probly around $150 or lower per 512 stick, so $300 for the gig
the grim gopher is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 06:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 670
Default

you should look at getting a gig of corsair ram, like this:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-524&depa=1

This is THE best PC3200 RAM you can get. and its only a few dollars to much, just a few more days saving....
__________________
<img src=\"http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c62/HAVOC2k5/Sempron_Userbar.png\">
Raekwon is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 07:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 16
Default

OCZ EB is by far the best ram for A64 right now. (Ignoring BH5 which isnt as easily available.)
Vortexkrow is offline  
Old 08-14-2004, 08:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

The Corsair XMS is VERY nice, but the price is ridiculous and I would also recommend looking into OCZ RAM

Not sure if yours is a FX series or not.......

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-974&depa=1

That would be nice for a regualr AMD64
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.