Best PSU for SLI system: Hands down! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 08:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Best PSU for SLI system: Hands down!

I had a OCZ 600w Powerstream in my SLI system. I wasn't impressed with the performance. So i sold it to a friend of mine who doesn't have a SLI system. It's perfect for him.

I did some research and decided on the (PC POWER & COOLING - TURBO-COOL 510 express/SLI) PSU. Ordered, received and installed it.

This freakin' thing is amazing. Solid as a rock! Checked with a Digital Voltage Meter the 5v - 12v rails don't flucutate at all, ever. It's not as quiet as they say it is, but oh well... It sounds like a beast.. Because it is a beast!

I've got an FX-55, 2 GIG's DDR400, 4 SATA HDD'S, 2 6800ultras, DVD/BURNER, FLOPPY/CARDREADER, 5 fans, 2 cold cathodes...

This thing costs $229.00 it's worth every last penny...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

sounds like somebody is trying to show off his system :/
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Sounds like im about to ****ing forget ram and TRY to buy that PSU and trash my 2 PSU setup
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I've already showed it off... i'm just excited about my new PSU, and want others to know how amazing it is in case they are looking for a good one.

Showing off... There are thousands of better setups then mine...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,276
Default

not really.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Mine is the best setup, in 2000. lol.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

only by a hair though
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Showing off... There are thousands of better setups then mine...
lol dude no there really isn't unless you just count insanely OC'd systems with phase change, but yeah I understand you aren't showing off here, I've seen blatent showing off before.

I figured the OCZ would have been good though =/
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
TonCrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 879
Default

I've got the same PSU in my SLI system. Hope mine continues to work well.
__________________
Abit IP35 Pro
Core 2 Duo 2.2ghz
eVGA GTX460 1GB
2gig Crucial Ballistix Ram
PC Power & Cooling 510
------------------------------------------
2.33ghz Core 2 Duo Macbook Pro
TonCrafter is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Ive got an Ultra X-Connect 500 watter. I love it. Got 34a on the +12V rail, its great. Runs quiet too.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.