Best Power Supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2004, 07:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Question Best Power Supply?

Hey guys whats the best power supply for a AMD 64 3500 mobo with 2 cd drives and 2 SATA drives?

So I need a PSU that has SATA power calbles too.

I was looking at the Thermaltakes, but people have said that the 12v line fluctuates alittle.

Also I have seen some Antecs that people seem to like. Let me know whats best.

Thanks for the help!
__________________

__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...104-152&depa=0

Dunno if it comes with SATA cables though
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 08:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

http://www.xoxide.com/ultra-x-connect-power-supply.html

cheaper... all the wires are modular so u connect wut u need .. and it has the best 12v rail i think out there rite now
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 09:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Antec is the best PSU manufacturer (imo).
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 11:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by _SiLv3R_
http://www.xoxide.com/ultra-x-connect-power-supply.html

cheaper... all the wires are modular so u connect wut u need .. and it has the best 12v rail i think out there rite now
Uwhh and the cables glow
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 06:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Default

So the Ultra X powersupply has a SATA power cable too?
__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 09:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

well no but it has an amazing 12V rail so u can split those 4 pin molex's as many time as u want... meaning you can have as many fans and hardrives as u wish and u can be sure ull get enuff current to them
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 62
Send a message via Yahoo to Brisky
Default

So I would still need to get an adapter then for the sata power.

Ok thanks for the help.
__________________
Future PC Specs:

DFI LP nForce 4 SLI-D
nVIDIA GeForce 7800 GTX
AMD 64 X2 3800
DDR 400 OCZ
WD Raptor 74 Gig
Thermaltake Black Tsunami Tower
Thermaltake Hardcano 12
Metalic Blue Ultra X 500w PSU
Plextor black DVD-R
Brisky is offline  
Old 09-25-2004, 10:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I think most SATA Hard Drives still can use the 4 pin molex cables
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.