Best Intel Processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: Is this worth it?
Yes! 8 57.14%
**** no! 6 42.86%
Voters: 14. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2006, 01:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default Best Intel Processor

So which is the better processor overall (between only these two processors). Intel Xeon or Intel Pentium 4?
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 01:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Theres no "None of the Above" choice.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The Xeon is a pure server CPU, so unless you are hosting a website off teh PC, that will not be a good choice, it is not like the AMD Opteron. Care to specify a core for the CPU?

(Or an AMD will be a good choice..)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

There's tons of different types of Xeon and P4 CPU's.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

pentium 4's range from gutless (1.8 Ghz) to powerful (3.6 Ghz)
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Don't they start at like 1.2GHz or something?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 03-06-2006, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bradybnmci
Theres no "None of the Above" choice.
Yeah...any reason for your narrowness of mind concerning this matter?

EDIT: Deja vu. This has already been posted.

Thread closed.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.