best hard drive manufactuer? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: CPU or Card?
CPU 1 12.50%
VIDEO CARD 6 75.00%
I dont know..... 1 12.50%
Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2004, 01:52 PM   #41 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Personally I prefer Maxtor. I have never had a problem with any of their drives. Seagate on the other hand gave me loads of hassle a few years back, mind you it was a barracuda.
__________________

Cerberus is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:21 PM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

What about Samsung, are they any good?
Yan
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 03:55 PM   #43 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

Groovin...nice trick , ill have to tri it for sure! freez it....hmmmm ok
i have tried sea " bill " gates , Wd , and still have them laying around here some where ..the sea " bill " gate lasted about 2 months ...this was a few years ago..... replaced it with same and same happened , went to maxtor ..been there since ...24-7-365
i guess when its time for a crash its time no matter what you have
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 04:14 PM   #44 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

This was posted on another forum by a professional technician:

Quote:
Put the drive into an airtight bag, like a Ziploc bag, or wrap it TIGHTLY in plastic wrap or a garbage bag, THEN wrap the entire thing in a medium-size towel, and place it in your freezer for 20 minutes.

The idea is that you want to see if deep-cooling it QUICKLY will allow it to run one more time. You do NOT want to FREEZE it, because as it THAWS, you'll have condensation INSIDE the drive, and the water will probably cause many problems, so do NOT leave it in the freezer for more than 30 minutes at MOST.

I actually tried this trick with a friend; his drive died, and we could NOT get it to work, even after leaving it in the freezer for 30 minutes, BUT, he later told me that he DID have success doing the same thing while visiting family members who were having problems with their system.

If it works, you'll get one last BRIEF chance to retrieve some data; if it doesn't work, you'll be no worse off than you are right now.
And this was added by someone who actually tried it...

Quote:
Because what you can do is freeze the drive, and when it starts acting up during data transfer, hit it with the freeze spray ( I've done this, and in most cases, I was able to retrive about 95% of the data, some cases was 100% )..
Liz
__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Old 12-02-2004, 06:37 PM   #45 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YanBooth
What about Samsung, are they any good?
Yan
I have two samsung sata drives in my system, no problems at all, very quiet, great warentee.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 12-04-2004, 09:16 PM   #46 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

My maxtor has been hangin on, not to well though.
i randomly get a notification from windows saying that hardware was improperly disconected, and then ig gives the model of my disk. ater that i hear my hd power down then re-power myself and i get the message repeatedly, this repeats itself untill i reboot my system. its a 10gb maxtor thats 3 yrs old.
180Mhz is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 02:47 AM   #47 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 180Mhz
My maxtor has been hangin on, not to well though.
i randomly get a notification from windows saying that hardware was improperly disconected, and then ig gives the model of my disk. ater that i hear my hd power down then re-power myself and i get the message repeatedly, this repeats itself untill i reboot my system. its a 10gb maxtor thats 3 yrs old.



id say its time to upgrade to a new maxtor 250 gig or what ever you can afford , these days a 120 gig is cheap.
__________________
if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 03:06 AM   #48 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 180Mhz
the freezer?
Ive never heard of that before... how does that work?
yes, just like posted above.....
a failed HDD isn't a failed HDD unless it's been a useless drive after a turn in the freezer......
can't believe you haven't tried this yet. i've been doing this for years with nothing but good results.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 04:55 PM   #49 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

You put your hdd in the freezer, and for how long? And what does this do to it?
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 12-06-2004, 05:25 PM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Honestly, just go with a WD, Ive had a Maxtor fail and has/knows about WD if you have any questions. You can find any size/speed drive you need from them, although I'm not sure about their SI drives.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.