Best Hard Drive Brand? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2006, 12:40 PM   #21 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Here's my experience...

Seagate=Western Digital>Maxtor

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 01:46 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Iv had 1 maxtor die on me but Iv found them to be rather nice although since buying a WD I must admit I have more faith in it.

What about Hitachi hard drives? Iv got 1 and its been doing well for a few years but dont no how good a brand they are any ideas?
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:19 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If I'm not mistaken, I think Hitachi works under WD... but I'm not totally certain. I know that Seagate very recently bought Maxtor, so we'll see them become more and more equal in quality.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 02:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
I found out that Maxtor had bought out Quantum. Quantum had always made really bad drives, and their failure rate was very high (I actually had a Quantum drive which died)
when Maxtor took over Quantum, Maxtor's drive quality went down.
I hope Seagate's quality won't go down after buying out Maxtor (yes, Seagate are buying out Maxtor)
I have an old Quantum Bigfoot, 2.5Gb...

still works like new...

and after droping(accident) my Quantun Fireball, which wasn't working right... started working all the sudden... still working...

both my current drives are Maxtor... I've never had any problems other than my Fireball...

and my next hard drive will most likely be a cheap maxtor from walmart...
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 10:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

wellanyways i kinda like the raptors and for system drive it looks like a good option i dont need 400 gb on my system drive i got backup drives for storage not speed
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:27 PM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default

free space on hard drives makes a difference in speed?
what if i had 160 GB of space and lets say... 80 gb was used, would my speed be low??
123Justin is offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 11:39 PM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default

Seagate=Maxtor so to say one is better than the other is dumb. Me, my dad, my dads friends, my friends, and there borthers and cousins all have had every single WD HD fail on them. I have 20meg Maxtor HDs that still work and i even use the first big HD i ever got (a 3gig Maxtor) as a backup sometimes. I have 3 WD HDs that are dead right now in my trash can, a 160gig, 80gig, and a 40gig. After they died in my friends computer he went out and bought brand new Maxtor HDs and has had no problem. He now has a 250 and a 300 SATA. I punted the WDs out my backdoor into our trash can.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 01:27 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

well i never had any of my maxtors die on me
irst one to have problems is 200 due to me dropping it all the time and disconnecting while in use it had some bad sectors or somethin but it works now otherwise i have used and still using about 8 maxtor drives
but i never really looked at performance compared to other brandsi mean at same rpm there wouldnt really be any notticeable difference

of course if u know what u doing and pick components carefully with each component bringing faster performance unnoticeable
but all components together will add up to faster computer overall
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:07 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Seagate=Maxtor
not really. although Seagate now owns Maxtor, the Seagate and Maxtor drives are still different, and they both sell their own drives under their own name.
at least for now, Maxtor drives are the same as they were, and Seagate drives are the same as they were. although that may change as time goes on
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 06:33 AM   #30 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I have had a seagate hdd catch on fire, but that wasn't the hdd fault. I took it to a friends house to get files off it and then format it ready for my new build, but his PSU couldn't take the extra load, and sent a surge to the hdd and the cathode on the same wire. I recieved a replacement with in the week, which I was pleased about.

I have also used WD on my sisters build, and found the build quality terrible. The welding round the edge looked like it was done wrong, then grinded away and just had spot welds put round it instead. The back of the hdd where you put the cables in was very wobberly and felt like it was going to come off.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.