Best Computer to tun servers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2005, 09:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default Best Computer to tun servers

Ok, I have a quick question what would be better to run servers
amd Sempron 3000 1024mb
amd 64 3400 1024mb
intel 3.0HT 1024mb
And can you also estimate how many slots each one can hold all together?
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 09:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Intel for Server and business related needs. I would go with an Intel Xeon for a server.

What do you mean by slots?
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Its going to be a counter strike server.
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 11:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Redcoat
Default

Aberceombie,

I used to rent a server from servermatrix

I had a Dual Xeon 2.4ghz with H/T
1.5GB memory and 2 18gb scsi drives

I ran 4 game servers off it. They were all Day of Defeat (mod of HL). I had a 14man pub, 32man pub and two 16man private. Everything ran smooth.

I would say if you get anything over 2.4ghz with 1GB + ram and a decent 10mbit+ uplink you should be able to run 2 gameservers with 24-28 players per server.

You really need to just set one up and see what type of resources it uses and use your best judgement to decide on how many more servers/players can be added
__________________
Jonathan C.
Redcoat is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

The AMD 3400+ is what I vote for
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-29-2005, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default Re: Best Computer to tun servers

Quote:
Originally posted by Abercrombie
Ok, I have a quick question what would be better to run servers
amd Sempron 3000 1024mb
amd 64 3400 1024mb
intel 3.0HT 1024mb
And can you also estimate how many slots each one can hold all together?
If yer just running a CS server, any of those will do fine. What's more important the server connection and the type of content you'll be providing (custom maps, map uploading, textures, sounds, ect.)

In the end, though, you just have to fire things up and see what happens. Start with about 20 slots, and if things are really smooth, bump it up (if you want that many shmucks on yer box). If things are laggy, get rid of some slots and try again. It also depends on how you like to run your CS games.

When I ran a CS server, I only put up 12 slots during normal times, because 6vs6 felt like good teams to me, even though my server could support 24 easily. My DoD box ran all 32 slots well, and I kept it at 32 for most games because DoD is great with lots of people. It's up to you.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.