Is it best to buy RAM in pairs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2004, 01:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Default Is it best to buy RAM in pairs?

Oh, and do I want a platinum heat spread with my corsair XMS ram? Low latency worth the money either?
__________________

PsyCho_BoB is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Sure its worth the money( Low Latency ).1 - 512 mb memory module will do 2 even better.2 - 256 mb modules is a common standard.The next memory upgrade i do will be 2 - 512mb modules.Stay with the same brand with whatever config you do.
I dont recomend 1-256mb and 1 - 512 mb module .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 764
Send a message via AIM to True_Orb
Default

Yeah it's better to have 2 sticks instead of 1, at least if they are the same capacity, I am not sure how dif. capacity RAM sticks work, but they are faster when you have 2 256 sticks instead of 1 512.

HOWEVER, if you might buy another 512 of RAM later, just buy 1 512 for now and then buy another 512 for later, then you will have maximum efficiency.
__________________
I argue with people on internet message boards.
Don\'t copy dat floppy!

--------------
Gigabyte GA-7DX(R) DualBIOS/A-bit KV8-Pro
AMD Duron 1.313GHZ/AMD 64 3000+ 2.0 GHZ
512 DDR266/1024 OCZ DDR (3200)
Chaintech GeForce 3 128mb/eVGA 6800GT 256mb
400 watt Powmax/530 watt Fortron
40.9GB 94098U8/80gb SATA
Maxtor DiamondMax/Seagate Barricuda
AOpen KF45A modded case
True_Orb is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Theres a slite increase in performance running dual channel especially with low latency memory.But i agree with true Orb and get a 2nd 512 module later then you`ll be SET
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 01:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default

Isn't this only true if you're cpu/mobo support dual channel?
regeisle is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 03:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

You can't run Dual Channel if your motherboard doesn't have it...
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 04:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Does two sticks still run faster than one if there is no dual channel?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 04:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

There are no speed advantages or disadvantages when running either a single module or two modules unless you have a dual channel motherboard and then it is a very minimal increase. The system only sees the memory as a whole. You can run any combination of memory modules and the system will work fine. We have never had a problem running different combinations of memory sizes in a motherboard in our labs.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 06-24-2004, 10:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

thats funny
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 08:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Corsair Micro 1024MB PC3200 XL Pro TwinX is currently the fastest RAM with 2x512MB sticks running in dual-channel, and 2-2-2-5 timings

I have a friend who has had a very dramatic speed increase when upgrading from single channel to dual channel
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.