Best Brand of 6600gt? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 01:24 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

evga = best


even though i have ati x800
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:33 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 20mm
okay and why is that?

because he clearly said he wanted a 6600GT

Choose whatever hardware YOU want but don't try and sway people when they've already made up their minds.. it just makes them less confident in their choice which leads to regret which no1 wants
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 01:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to 20mm
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by VIII
because he clearly said he wanted a 6600GT

Choose whatever hardware YOU want but don't try and sway people when they've already made up their minds.. it just makes them less confident in their choice which leads to regret which no1 wants


first of all he never clearly stated he wanted a 6600GT.

second don't try to tell me that i'm "swaying" him to get ATI...that's just bs...ATI does better with the HL2 engiene...that's why i asked so don't tell me that i'm gonna make him regret something.

and last i suggested it...
20mm is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

Quote:
first of all he never clearly stated he wanted a 6600GT.
obviously if he bought one then he has his mind set on one and he wants to OC it so thast wny he asked for brands.
Quote:
ATI does better with the HL2 engiene
i laugh in your face. Me and Beed will prove you wrong flat on your back.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 111
Default

did u install the drivers?
r1c3_808 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:09 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 20mm
first of all he never clearly stated he wanted a 6600GT.

second don't try to tell me that i'm "swaying" him to get ATI...that's just bs...ATI does better with the HL2 engiene...that's why i asked so don't tell me that i'm gonna make him regret something.

and last i suggested it...
ill tell u what i plz and trust me, for $200, the equivalent ATI card would get royally sh4t on by the $200 6600gt
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:13 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

thank you and good night ladies and gentlemen lol. so it has been said by the grand master!!!!!!
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:18 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

DO NOT turn this into an ATI vs Nvidia thread people. He specifically stated he wants A TRUSTED BRAND 6600GT ....end of case....do not suggest ATI unless the thread owner specifically asks for ATI brand cards. He wants to solely know what a good brand 6600GT AGP card will be
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 342
Default

Many people including the person who started this thread all say XFX is crap....why? I bought a XFX Geforce 6600gt and other than some problems finding a driver for it (i purchased the card a week after they came out) i've had no problems with the card at all. Actually i love the card! beats the hell out of my ATI Radeon 9000, LOL! Still can't get over the fact it could run HL2 (low settings of course) and Battlefield Vietnam.
Maybe the XFX cards run better on intel instead of AMD???
__________________
INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.0 GHz
512kb L2 Cache S478/ Zalman 7000B-AlCu cooler
Antec Solution Series 3700AMB Case 350W
XFX GEFORCE 6800GS VF700-AlCu VGA cooler
ASUS P4P800-SE
1 GIG CORSAIR/1 GIG GEIL DDR400 PC3200
Benq Lightscribe 16x DVD ReWriter
SAMSUNG 1.44MB FLOPPY DRIVE
WESTERN DIGITAL 80GB 7200RPM 8MB CACHE HARD DRIVE
Philips 17\" MONITOR
LG 52X24X52 CD-RW
Logitech MX518 Optical Mouse
MICROSOFT WINDOWS XP HOME
MADWAD is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 02:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

my 5600ultra can run that shiznat on high settings (HL2) so why you play at low settings?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.